How Do I FILE A CLAIM?

If you believe that you have experienced or are experiencing age discrimination, you should first contact the EEO representative in your agency.

Complaints must be filed within 30 days after you learned of the alleged violation.

If you have questions or concerns, please contact your EEO Office or the Office of the Statewide EEO Coordinator at (410) 767-3800.



SAFE AND CONFIDENTIAL

All investigations into your complaint are strictly confidential. Your information will only be discussed with pertinent individuals who need to know for purposes of investigation and resolution.

If you file a claim or pursue a complaint, oppose discrimination, or participate in an investigation, Maryland law protects you against retaliation by your employer.

It's important to understand that retaliation is not just limited to firing. It includes other adverse actions such as harassment, demotion, and unjustified negative evaluations.

ADDITIONAL FILING INFO.

In addition to filing an initial claim with your agency's EEO Office, you may file a claim with any of the following agencies:

 Office of the Statewide EEO Coordinator (OSEEOC). Within 10 days after your agency renders a decision on your EEO claim, you may file an appeal with the OSEEOC at:

> 301 West Preston Street Suite #607 Baltimore, MD 21201 Phone: (410) 767-3800

Fax: (410) 333-5004

Email: oseeoc.dbm@maryland.gov

Website: OSEEOC Home

2. Maryland Commission on Civil Rights (MCCR):

William Donald Schaefer Tower 6 Saint Paul Street, Suite 900 Baltimore, MD 21202 Phone: (410) 767-8600 Fax: (410) 333-1841

https://mccr.maryland.gov

3. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC):

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission 31 Hopkins Plaza, Suite 1432 Baltimore, Maryland 21201 Phone: (410) 209-2237 Toll Free: 1-800-669-4000

https://www.eeoc.gov/



Governor Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr. DBM Secretary David R. Brinkley

Statewide EEO Coordinator Glynis Watford



AGE DISCRIMINATION

Office of the Statewide Equal Employment Opportunity Coordinator (OSEEOC)

DEFINING AGE DISCRIMINATION:

Age discrimination is the *unfair* treatment of a person because of his or her age. Maryland law protects employees and applicants from age discrimination in advertising, recruitment, referral, hiring, discharge, pay, promotion, training, fringe benefits, forced early retirement and other aspects of employment.

Only an individual's merit and fitness should be taken into account in employment related decisions, unless age is a bona fide occupational qualification.

TYPES OF AGE DISCRIMINATION:

- Making reductions in force based on age rather than on objective workrelated criteria.
- Implementing a neutral policy that, in application, creates a disproportional adverse effect on a protected group.
- Statements or actions motivated by an individual's age that creates a hostile work environment.
- Telling job applicants that they are overqualified.
- Accommodating the preference of coworkers, clients or customers for younger workers.

WHO IS PROTECTED?

Maryland law does not specify a minimum or maximum age requirement to qualify for protection from Age Discrimination. If an employee or applicant believes that they have been treated differently as a result of his/her age, may file a claim.

Unlike Maryland law, under federal law, the Age Discrimination and Employment Act (ADEA) protects individuals 40 years and older from age discrimination in employment.



LEGAL BACKGROUND:

Protections are derived from Maryland's Anti-Discrimination law State Government Article Title 20 and State Personnel and Pensions Article §2-302, and also by Maryland's Code of Fair Employment Practices (Executive Order 01.01.2007.16).



It is **illegal** to discriminate on the basis of age in regards to:

- recruitment
- promotions
- hiring

- training
- transferring
- advertisement
- dismissal
- retirement
- discipline
- assignment
- work conditions
- performance evaluations

FIGHT DISCRIMINATION:

If you or someone you know is being discriminated against, you can take the following actions:

- I. Speak to the harasser. S/he might not know that his or her behavior is offensive. Also, be sure to document the incident(s) thoroughly—date, time, exact words said, and, if applicable, witnesses.
- **2.** Speak to your supervisor. S/he may have to report your information to the EEO Office.
- **3.** Speak to your agency's EEO Office directly.
- 4. File a claim with the EEO Office.