Skip Navigation LinksHome > State Employees > State Holidays for the Year 2011

State Holidays for the Year 2011

State Personnel Management System - State Holidays and Service Reduction Days 2011 (Revised)

 

New Year's Day** Friday December 31
Birthday of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr Monday January 17
President's Day Monday February 21
Service Reduction Day1 FY2011 Friday May 27
Memorial Day Monday May 30
Independence Day Monday July 4
Service Reduction Day2 FY2012 Friday September 2
Labor Day Monday September 5
Columbus Day Monday October 10
Veteran's Day Friday November 11
Service Reduction Day2 FY2012 Wednesday November 23
Thanksgiving Day Thursday November 24
American Indian Heritage Day Friday November 25
Service Reduction Day2 FY2012 Friday December 23
Christmas Day* Monday December 26
Service Reduction Day2 FY2012 Friday December 30

* When a State holiday occurs on a Saturday or Sunday, the holiday is observed on the Friday before or the Monday after the actual holiday, respectively.

** The New Year's Day holiday for 2011 will be observed in the 2010 calendar year because the holiday occurs on a Saturday.

1The State significantly reduces routine State operations for non-24/7 employees on these specific days preceding the holiday in accordance with Executive Order 01.01.2010.11.

2The State significantly reduces routine State operations for non-24/7 employees on these specific days preceding the holiday in accordance with Executive Order 01.01.2011.08.

Note:  Agencies that provide 24-hour, 7 days-a-week services may conform to the above schedule by providing employees 12 days of holiday leave at alternate times.  The appointing authorities of these agencies will provide more specific information concerning holiday scheduling.

Updated: June 2011