
 

 

______________________________ 

HOW DO I FILE A CLAIM? 

If you believe that you have experienced 

or are experiencing age discrimination, 

you should first contact the EEO 

representative in your agency. 

Complaints must be filed within 30 days 

after you learned of the alleged 

violation. 

If you have questions or concerns, 

please contact your EEO Office or the 

Office of the Statewide EEO 

Coordinator at (410) 767-3800. 

SAFE AND CONFIDENTIAL 

All investigations into your complaint 

are strictly confidential. Your 

information will only be discussed 

with pertinent individuals who need to 

know for purposes of investigation 

and resolution. 

If you file a claim or pursue a 

complaint, oppose discrimination, or 

participate in an investigation, 

Maryland law protects you against 

retaliation by your employer. 

It’s important to understand that 

retaliation is not just limited to firing. 

It includes other adverse actions such 

as harassment, demotion, and 

unjustified negative evaluations. 

ADDITIONAL FILING INFO. 

In addition to filing an initial claim with your 

agency’s EEO Office, you may file a claim with

any of the following agencies: 

1. Office of the Statewide EEO Coordinator 

(OSEEOC).  Within 10 days after your 

agency renders a decision on your EEO 

claim, you may file an appeal with the 

OSEEOC at: 

301 West Preston Street 

Suite #607 

Baltimore, MD 21201 

Phone: (410) 767-3800 

Fax: (410) 333-5004 

Email: oseeoc.dbm@maryland.gov 

Website: OSEEOC Home 

2. Maryland Commission on Civil Rights 

(MCCR): 

William Donald Schaefer Tower 

6 Saint Paul Street, Suite 900 

Baltimore, MD 21202 

Phone: (410) 767-8600 

Fax: (410) 333-1841 

https://mccr.maryland.gov 

3. Equal Employment Opportunity 

Commission (EEOC): 

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity 

Commission 

31 Hopkins Plaza, Suite 1432 

Baltimore, Maryland 21201 

Phone: (410) 209-2237 

Toll Free: 1-800-669-4000 

https://www.eeoc.gov/ 
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DEFINING AGE 

DISCRIMINATION: 

Age discrimination is the unfair treatment 

of a person because of his or her age. 

Maryland law protects employees and 

applicants from age discrimination in 

advertising, recruitment, referral, hiring, 

discharge, pay, promotion, training, fringe 

benefits, forced early retirement and 

other aspects of employment. 

Only an individual’s merit and fitness

should be taken into account in 

employment related decisions, unless age 

is a bona fide occupational qualification. 

TYPES OF AGE 

DISCRIMINATION: 

• Making reductions in force based on

age rather than on objective work-

related criteria. 

• Implementing a neutral policy that, in

application, creates a disproportional 

adverse effect on a protected group. 

• Statements or actions motivated by an 

individual’s age that creates a hostile 

work environment. 

• Telling job applicants that they are 

overqualified. 

• Accommodating the preference of co-

workers, clients or customers for 

younger workers. 

WHO IS PROTECTED? 

Maryland law does not specify a minimum or 

maximum age requirement to qualify for 

protection from Age Discrimination. If an 

employee or applicant believes that they have 

been treated differently as a result of his/her 

age, may file a claim. 

Unlike Maryland law, under federal law, the 

Age Discrimination and Employment Act 

(ADEA) protects individuals 40 years and 

older from age discrimination in employment. 

LEGAL BACKGROUND: 

Protections are derived from Maryland’s
Anti-Discrimination law State Government 

Article Title 20 and State Personnel and 

Pensions Article §2-302, and also by 

Maryland’s Code of Fair Employment

Practices (Executive Order 01.01.2007.16). 

HOW AM I 

PROTECTED? 

It is illegal to discriminate on the basis of 

age in regards to: 

• recruitment • promotions 

• hiring • training 

• transferring • advertisement 

• dismissal • retirement 

• discipline • assignment 

• work conditions • performance 

evaluations 

FIGHT DISCRIMINATION: 

If you or someone you know is being 

discriminated against, you can take the 

following actions: 

1. Speak to the harasser.  S/he might not 

know that his or her behavior is 

offensive.  Also, be sure to document the 

incident(s) thoroughly—date, time, exact 

words said, and, if applicable, witnesses. 

2. Speak to your supervisor. S/he may 

have to report your information to the 

EEO Office. 

3. Speak to your agency’s EEO Office 

directly. 

4. File a claim with the EEO Office. 
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