State Holidays for the Year 2020

State Personnel Management System - State Holidays 2020

New Year's Day Wednesday January 1
Birthday of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr Monday January 20
Presidents' Day Monday February 17
Memorial Day Monday May 25
Independence Day* Friday July 3
Labor Day Monday September 7
Columbus Day Monday October 12
Election Day Tuesday November 3
Veterans Day Wednesday
November 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday November 26
American Indian Heritage Day Friday November 27
Christmas Day Friday December 25


*When a State holiday occurs on a Saturday or Sunday, the holiday is observed on the Friday before or the Monday after the actual holiday, respectively.​

Note:  Agencies that provide 24-hour, 7-days-a-week services may conform to the above schedule by providing employees 11 days of holiday leave at alternate times.  The appointing authorities of these agencies will provide more specific information concerning holiday scheduling.