YOUR BENEFIT PLAN

State of Maryland

All Class 1, Class 2, Class 3 and Class 4 Employees as shown in the Eligible Class description

Supplemental Life Insurance

Dependent Life Insurance

Certificate Date: January 1, 2024



TO OUR EMPLOYEES:

All of us appreciate the protection and security insurance provides.

This certificate describes the benefits that are available to you. We urge you to read it carefully.

State of Maryland



Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 200 Park Avenue, New York, New York 10166

CERTIFICATE RIDER

Group Policy No.: 215917-1-G

Policyholder: State of Maryland

Effective Date: January 1, 2024

The Group Term Life Insurance Certificate is changed as follows:

To add the following definition of Child to the certificate: (for residents of Texas, the Child definition is modified as explained in the Notice pages of this certificate - please consult the Notice)

Child means the following:

for Life Insurance, Your natural child, adopted child (including a child from the date of placement with the adopting parents until the legal adoption), stepchild (including the child of a Domestic Partner); or blood relative who resides with You; who is under age 26 and supported by You.

The term includes a newly eligible employee's child who is incapable of self-sustaining employment because of a mental or physical handicap as defined by applicable law, and has been so handicapped continuously since a date before the child reached the limiting age and who otherwise qualifies as a Child except for the age limit. Proof of such handicap must be sent to Us within 31 days after the date the Child becomes eligible for insurance and at reasonable intervals after such date.

The definition of **Child** includes a child, who resides with and is supported by You and is under Your testamentary or court appointed guardianship, other than temporary guardianship of less than 12 months duration.

The definition of **Child** includes grandchildren, under the limiting age, who are: unmarried, reside with and are supported by You, and are in Your court ordered custody.

For the purposes of determining who may become covered for insurance, the term does not include any person who:

- is on active duty in the military of any country or international authority; however, active duty for this
 purpose does not include weekend or summer training for the reserve forces of the United States,
 including the National Guard; or
- is insured under the Group Policy as an employee.

This rider is to be attached to and made a part of the Certificate.

Michel Khalaf President

1.lu/ Ku



Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 200 Park Avenue, New York, New York 10166

CERTIFICATE RIDER

Group Policy No.: 215917-1-G

Policyholder: State of Maryland

Effective Date: January 1, 2024

The Certificate is changed as shown below:

The Certificate is revised to add the following:

How We Will Pay Benefits

Unless the Beneficiary requests payment by check, when the Certificate states that We will pay benefits in "one sum", "lump sum" or a "single sum", We may pay the full benefit amount:

- 1. by check;
- 2. by establishing an account that earns interest and provides the Beneficiary with immediate access to the full benefit amount; or
- 3. by any other method that provides the Beneficiary with immediate access to the full benefit amount.

Other modes of payment may be available upon request. For details, call Our toll free number shown on the Certificate Face Page.

This rider is to be attached to and made a part of the Certificate

Michel Khalaf President

().lu/ Ku



Metropolitan Life Insurance Company New York, New York

CERTIFICATE RIDER

Group Policy No.: 215917-1

Policyholder: State of Maryland

Effective Date: January 1, 2024

The certificate is changed as shown below:

The definition of Domestic Partner is added as follows:

Domestic Partner means each of two people, one of whom is an employee of the Policyholder, who:

- have registered as each other's domestic partner, civil union partner or reciprocal beneficiary with a
 government agency where such registration is available; or
- are of the same or opposite sex and have a mutually dependent relationship so that each has an insurable interest in the life of the other. Each person must be:
 - 1. 18 years of age or older;
 - 2. unmarried:
 - 3. the sole domestic partner of the other person and have been so for the immediately preceding 12 months;
 - 4. sharing a primary residence with the other person and have been so sharing for the immediately preceding 12 months; and
 - 5. not related to the other in a manner that would bar their marriage in the jurisdiction in which they reside.

A Domestic Partner affidavit attesting to the existence of an insurable interest in one another's lives must be completed and Signed by the employee.

This rider is to be attached to and made a part of the Certificate

Michel Khalaf President

1.lu/ Ku



Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 200 Park Avenue, New York, New York 10166

CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE

Metropolitan Life Insurance Company ("MetLife"), a stock company, certifies that You and Your Dependents are insured for the benefits described in this certificate, subject to the provisions of this certificate. This certificate is issued to You under the Group Policy and it includes the terms and provisions of the Group Policy that describe Your insurance. **PLEASE READ THIS CERTIFICATE CAREFULLY.**

This certificate is part of the Group Policy. The Group Policy is a contract between MetLife and the Policyholder and may be changed or ended without Your consent or notice to You.

Policyholder: State of Maryland

Group Policy Number: 215917-1-G

Type of Insurance: Term Life Insurance

MetLife Toll Free Number(s):

For Claim Information FOR LIFE CLAIMS: 1-866-574-2863

PLEASE AFFIX THE STICKER SHOWING THE EMPLOYEE'S NAME, EFFECTIVE DATE, AND AMOUNT IN THIS SPACE

THIS CERTIFICATE ONLY DESCRIBES TERM LIFE INSURANCE.

FOR CALIFORNIA RESIDENTS: REVIEW THIS CERTIFICATE CAREFULLY. IF YOU ARE 65 OR OLDER ON YOUR EFFECTIVE DATE OF THIS CERTIFICATE, YOU MAY RETURN IT TO US WITHIN 30 DAYS FROM THE DATE YOU RECEIVE IT AND WE WILL REFUND ANY PREMIUM YOU PAID. IN THIS CASE, THIS CERTIFICATE WILL BE CONSIDERED TO NEVER HAVE BEEN ISSUED.

THE BENEFITS OF THE POLICY PROVIDING YOUR COVERAGE ARE GOVERNED PRIMARILY BY THE LAW OF A STATE OTHER THAN FLORIDA.

For Idaho Residents: TEN DAY RIGHT TO EXAMINE CERTIFICATE: You may return the certificate to Us within 10 days from the date You receive it. If You return it within the 10 day period, the certificate will be considered never to have been issued. We will refund any premium paid after We receive Your notice of cancellation.

For Residents of North Dakota: If You are not satisfied with Your Certificate, You may return it to Us within 20 days after You receive it, unless a claim has previously been received by Us under Your Certificate. We will refund within 30 days of Our receipt of the returned Certificate any Premium that has been paid and the Certificate will then be considered to have never been issued. You should be aware that, if You elect to return the Certificate for a refund of premiums, losses which otherwise would have been covered under Your Certificate will not be covered.

1

WE ARE REQUIRED BY STATE LAW TO INCLUDE THE NOTICE(S) WHICH APPEAR ON THIS PAGE AND IN THE NOTICE(S) SECTION WHICH FOLLOWS THIS PAGE. PLEASE READ THE(SE) NOTICE(S) CAREFULLY.

fp

NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF TEXAS

Have a complaint or need help?

If you have a problem with a claim or your premium, call your insurance company or HMO first. If you can't work out the issue, the Texas Department of Insurance may be able to help.

Even if you file a complaint with the Texas Department of Insurance, you should also file a complaint or appeal through your insurance company or HMO. If you don't, you may lose your right to appeal.

Metropolitan Life Insurance Company

To get information or file a complaint with your insurance company or HMO:

Call: Corporate Consumer Relations Department at 1-800-438-6388

Toll-free: 1-800-438-6388

Email: Johnstown Complaint Referrals@metlife.com

Mail: Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 700 Quaker Lane 2nd Floor Warwick, RI 02886

The Texas Department of Insurance

To get help with an insurance question or file a complaint with the state:

Call with a question: 1-800-252-3439

File a complaint: www.tdi.texas.gov

Email: ConsumerProtection@tdi.texas.gov

Mail: MC 111-1A, P.O. Box 149091, Austin, TX 78714-9091

¿Tiene una queja o necesita ayuda?

Si tiene un problema con una reclamación o con su prima de seguro, llame primero a su compañía de seguros o HMO. Si no puede resolver el problema, es posible que el Departamento de Seguros de Texas (Texas Department of Insurance, por su nombre en inglés) pueda ayudar.

Aun si usted presenta una queja ante el Departamento de Seguros de Texas, también debe presentar una queja a través del proceso de quejas o de apelaciones de su compañía de seguros o HMO. Si no lo hace, podría perder su derecho para apelar.

Metropolitan Life Insurance Company

Para obtener información o para presentar una queja ante su compañía de seguros o HMO:

Llame a: Departamento de Relaciones Corporativas del Consumidor al 1-800-438-6388

Teléfono gratuito: 1-800-438-6388

Correo electrónico: Johnstown_Complaint_Referrals@metlife.com

Dirección postal: Metropolitan Life Insurance Company

700 Quaker Lane

2nd Floor

Warwick, RI 02886

El Departamento de Seguros de Texas

Para obtener ayuda con una pregunta relacionada con los seguros o para presentar una queja ante el estado:

Llame con sus preguntas al: 1-800-252-3439

Presente una queja en: www.tdi.texas.gov

Correo electrónico: ConsumerProtection@tdi.texas.gov

Dirección postal: MC 111-1A, P.O. Box 149091, Austin, TX 78714-9091

NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF TEXAS

The Definition Of Child Is Modified For The Coverage Listed Below:

For Texas Residents (Life Insurance):

The term also includes Your grandchildren. The age limit for children and grandchildren will not be less than 25, regardless of the child's or grandchild's student status or full-time employment status. Your natural child, adopted child or stepchild under age 25 will not need to be supported by You to qualify as a Child under this insurance. In addition, grandchildren must be able to be claimed by You as a dependent for Federal Income Tax purposes at the time You applied for Insurance.

NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF WASHINGTON

LIFE INSURANCE: ACCELERATED BENEFIT OPTION (ABO)

The Life Insurance accelerated benefit does not and is not intended to qualify as long-term care under Washington state law. Washington state law prevents this accelerated life benefit from being marketed or sold as long-term care.

NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF ALL STATES

LIFE INSURANCE BENEFITS WILL BE REDUCED IF AN ACCELERATED BENEFIT IS PAID

DISCLOSURE: The Life Insurance accelerated benefit offered under this certificate is intended to qualify for favorable tax treatment under the Internal Revenue Code of 1986. If this benefit qualifies for such favorable tax treatment, the benefit will be excludable from Your income and not subject to federal taxation. Tax laws relating to accelerated benefits are complex. You are advised to consult with a qualified tax advisor about circumstances under which You could receive an accelerated benefit excludable from income under federal law.

DISCLOSURE: Receipt of an accelerated benefit may affect Your, Your Spouse's or Your family's eligibility for public assistance programs such as Medical Assistance (Medicaid), Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC), Supplementary Social Security Income (SSI), and drug assistance programs. You are advised to consult with a qualified tax advisor and with social service agencies concerning how receipt of such payment will affect Your, Your Spouse's and Your family's eligibility for public assistance.

NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF ARKANSAS

If You have a question concerning Your coverage or a claim, first contact the Policyholder or group account administrator. If, after doing so, You still have a concern, You may call the toll free telephone number shown on the Certificate Face Page.

Policyholders have the right to file a complaint with the Arkansas Insurance Department (AID). You may call AID to request a complaint form at (800) 852-5494 or (501) 371-2640 or write the Department at:

Arkansas Insurance Department Consumer Services Division 1 Commerce Way, Suite 102 Little Rock, Arkansas 72202

NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF CALIFORNIA

IMPORTANT NOTICE

TO OBTAIN ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, OR TO MAKE A COMPLAINT, CONTACT THE POLICYHOLDER OR METLIFE AT:

METROPOLITAN LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY ATTN: CONSUMER RELATIONS DEPARTMENT 500 SCHOOLHOUSE ROAD JOHNSTOWN, PA 15904

1-800-438-6388

IF, AFTER CONTACTING THE POLICYHOLDER AND/OR METLIFE, YOU FEEL THAT A SATISFACTORY SOLUTION HAS NOT BEEN REACHED, YOU MAY FILE A COMPLAINT WITH THE CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE DEPARTMENT AT:

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE CONSUMER SERVICES 300 SOUTH SPRING STREET LOS ANGELES, CA 90013

WEBSITE: http://www.insurance.ca.gov/

1-800-927-4357 (within California) 1-213-897-8921 (outside California)

NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF GEORGIA

IMPORTANT NOTICE

The laws of the state of Georgia prohibit insurers from unfairly discriminating against any person based upon his or her status as a victim of family violence.

NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF IDAHO

If You have a question concerning Your coverage or a claim, You may call the toll free telephone number shown on the Certificate Face Page.

If You are still concerned after contacting MetLife, You should feel free to contact:

Idaho Department of Insurance
Consumer Affairs
700 West State Street, 3rd Floor
PO Box 83720
Boise, Idaho 83720-0043

1-800-721-3272 (for calls placed within Idaho) or 208-334-4250 or www.DOI.Idaho.gov

NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF ILLINOIS

IMPORTANT NOTICE

To make a complaint to MetLife, You may write to:

MetLife 200 Park Avenue New York, New York 10166

The address of the Illinois Department of Insurance is:

Illinois Department of Insurance Public Services Division Springfield, Illinois 62767

NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF INDIANA

Questions regarding your policy or coverage should be directed to:

Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 1-800-438-6388

If you (a) need the assistance of the government agency that regulates insurance; or (b) have a complaint you have been unable to resolve with your insurer you may contact the Department of Insurance by mail, telephone or email:

State of Indiana Department of Insurance Consumer Services Division 311 West Washington Street, Suite 300 Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

Consumer Hotline: (800) 622-4461; (317) 232-2395

Complaint can be filed electronically at www.in.gov/idoi

NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF MINNESOTA

This is a life insurance policy which pays accelerated death benefits at your option under conditions specified in the policy. This policy is not a long-term care policy meeting the requirements of sections M.S.62A.46 to 62A.56 or chapter 62S.

NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF TEXAS

THE INSURANCE POLICY UNDER WHICH THIS CERTIFICATE IS ISSUED IS NOT A POLICY OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION INSURANCE. YOU SHOULD CONSULT YOUR EMPLOYER TO DETERMINE WHETHER YOUR EMPLOYER IS A SUBSCRIBER TO THE WORKERS' COMPENSATION SYSTEM.

NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF TEXAS

LIFE INSURANCE: ACCELERATED BENEFIT OPTION (ABO)

The laws of the state of Texas mandate that the terms "Terminally III" and "Terminal Illness" when used in the LIFE INSURANCE: ACCELERATED BENEFIT OPTION (ABO) FOR YOU and the LIFE INSURANCE: ACCELERATED BENEFIT OPTION (ABO) FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS provisions mean that due to injury or sickness, You or Your Dependent is expected to die within 24 months of the date You request payment of an Accelerated Benefit.

NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF UTAH

Notice of Protection Provided by Utah Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association

This notice provides a brief summary of the Utah Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association ("the Association") and the protection it provides for policyholders. This safety net was created under Utah law, which determines who and what is covered and the amounts of coverage.

The Association was established to provide protection in the unlikely event that your life, health, or annuity insurance company becomes financially unable to meet its obligations and is taken over by its insurance regulatory agency. If this should happen, the Association will typically arrange to continue coverage and pay claims, in accordance with Utah law, with funding from assessments paid by other insurance companies.

The basic protections provided by the Association are:

- Life Insurance
 - o \$500.000 in death benefits
 - o \$200,000 in cash surrender or withdrawal values
- Health Insurance
 - o \$500,000 in hospital, medical and surgical insurance benefits
 - o \$500,000 in long-term care insurance benefits
 - o \$500,000 in disability income insurance benefits
 - o \$500,000 in other types of health insurance benefits
- Annuities
 - o \$250,000 in withdrawal and cash values

The maximum amount of protection for each individual, regardless of the number of policies or contracts, is \$500,000. Special rules may apply with regard to hospital, medical and surgical insurance benefits.

Note: Certain policies and contracts may not be covered or fully covered. For example, coverage does not extend to any portion of a policy or contract that the insurer does not guarantee, such as certain investment additions to the account value of a variable life insurance policy or a variable annuity contract. Coverage is conditioned on residency in this state and there are substantial limitations and exclusions. For a complete description of coverage, consult Utah Code, Title 3 IA, Chapter 28.

Insurance companies and agents are prohibited by Utah law to use the existence of the Association or its coverage to encourage you to purchase insurance. When selecting an insurance company, you should not rely on Association coverage. If there is any inconsistency between Utah law and this notice, Utah law will control.

To learn more about the above protections, as well as protections relating to group contracts or retirement plans, please visit the Association's website at www.utlifega.org or contact:

Utah Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Assoc. 60 East South Temple, Suite 500 Salt Lake City UT 84111 (801) 320-9955 Utah Insurance Department 3110 State Office Building Salt Lake City UT 84114-6901 (801) 538-3800

A written complaint about misuse of this Notice or the improper use of the existence of the Association may be filed with the Utah Insurance Department at the above address.

NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF VIRGINIA

IMPORTANT INFORMATION REGARDING YOUR INSURANCE

In the event You need to contact someone about this insurance for any reason please contact Your agent. If no agent was involved in the sale of this insurance, or if You have additional questions You may contact the insurance company issuing this insurance at the following address and telephone number:

MetLife 200 Park Avenue New York, New York 10166 Attn: Corporate Consumer Relations Department

To phone in a claim related question, You may call Claims Customer Service at: 1-800-275-4638

If You have been unable to contact or obtain satisfaction from the company or the agent, You may contact the Virginia State Corporation Commission's Bureau of Insurance at:

Bureau of Insurance
Life and Health Division
P.O. Box 1157
Richmond, VA 23218-1157
1-804-371-9691 - phone
1-877-310-6560 - toll-free
1-804-371-9944 - fax
www.scc.virginia.gov - web address
BureauOfInsurance@scc.virginia.gov - email

Written correspondence is preferable so that a record of Your inquiry is maintained. When contacting Your agent, company or the Bureau of Insurance, have Your policy number available.

NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF WASHINGTON

This non-insurance benefit does not constitute an insurance funded prearrangement contract, pursuant to RCW 18.39.255.

Employees who become insured for MetLife Supplemental Life Insurance under the Group Policy are eligible to receive discounts of up to 10% off the service provider's standard price for certain funeral services including funeral, cremation and cemetery products and services provided by a third party national network of funeral and funeral planning providers while such insurance remains in effect. Employees who become insured for MetLife Supplemental Life Insurance will also have access to funeral planning resources including funeral planning tools and concierge services provided by the same national network of providers. MetLife has arranged for these services and discounts to be provided to Employees and their spouses for no additional premium. MetLife is not responsible for providing or failing to provide these services nor is it liable for any negligence in the provision of such services by the third party service provider.

The discounts and planning services are not available in all jurisdictions and are subject to regulatory approval.

A Digital Estate Planning Platform is included with Supplemental Life Insurance, at no additional cost. MetLife has arranged for this Platform to be provided by MetLife Legal Plans, Inc., a MetLife affiliate. The Platform will be made available to Employees and their Spouses so they can create estate planning documents through legalplans.com/estateplanning.

NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF WEST VIRGINIA

FREE LOOK PERIOD:

If You are not satisfied with Your certificate, You may return it to Us within 10 days after You receive it, unless a claim has previously been received by Us under Your certificate. We will refund within 10 days of our receipt of the returned certificate any Premium that has been paid and the certificate will then be considered to have never been issued. You should be aware that, if You elect to return the certificate for a refund of premiums, losses which otherwise would have been covered under Your certificate will not be covered.

NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF WISCONSIN

KEEP THIS NOTICE WITH YOUR INSURANCE PAPERS

PROBLEMS WITH YOUR INSURANCE? - If You are having problems with Your insurance company or agent, do not hesitate to contact the insurance company or agent to resolve Your problem.

MetLife
Attn: Corporate Consumer Relations Department
200 Park Avenue
New York, New York 10166
1-800-438-6388

You can also contact the **OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE**, a state agency which enforces Wisconsin's insurance laws, and file a complaint. You can contact the **OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE** by contacting:

Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
Complaints Department
P.O. Box 7873
Madison, WI 53707-7873
1-800-236-8517 outside of Madison or 608-266-0103 in Madison.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Section	Page
CERTIFICATE FACE PAGE	1
NOTICES	
SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS	
DEFINITIONS	
ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOU	
Eligible Classes	
Date You Are Eligible for Insurance	
Enrollment Process for Class 1, Class 2 and Class 4	
Date Your Insurance That Is Part Of The Flexible Benefits Plan Takes Effect for Class 1, Class 2 and	
4	
Enrollment Process for Class 3	
Date Your Insurance That Is Part Of The Flexible Benefits Plan Takes Effect for Class 3	37
Date Your Insurance Ends	
ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS	
Eligible Classes For Dependent Insurance	
Date You Are Eligible For Dependent Insurance	
Enrollment Process for Class 1, Class 2 and Class 4	
Date Insurance That Is Part Of The Flexible Benefits Plan Takes Effect For Your Dependents for Cla	4 I
Class 2 and Class 4	,
Enrollment Process for Class 3	
Date Insurance That Is Part Of The Flexible Benefits Plan Takes Effect For Your Dependents for Cla	
Date Your Insurance For Your Dependents Ends	
SPECIAL RULES FOR GROUPS PREVIOUSLY COVERED UNDER OTHER GROUP LIFE INSURAN	
CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM PAYMENT	
For Mentally or Physically Handicapped Children	
For Family And Medical Leave	
At Your Option: Portability	
At The Policyholder's Option	
EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY	
LIFE INSURANCE: FOR YOU	
LIFE INSURANCE: FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS	
LIFE INSURANCE: ACCELERATED BENEFIT OPTION (ABO) FOR YOU	
LIFE INSURANCE: ACCELERATED BENEFIT OPTION (ABO) FOR YOUR SPOUSE	
LIFE INSURANCE: CONVERSION OPTION FOR YOU	
LIFE INSURANCE: CONVERSION OPTION FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS	
ELIGIBILITY FOR CONTINUATION OF CERTAIN INSURANCE WHILE YOU ARE TOTALLY DISABLE	
FILING A CLAIM: CLAIMS FOR LIFE INSURANCE BENEFITS	69
GENERAL PROVISIONS	
Assignment	
Beneficiary	
Entire Contract	
Contestability: Statements Made By You	
Contestability: Statements Made by the Policyholder	
Misstatement of Age	
Conformity with Law	71

SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS

This schedule shows the benefits that are available under the Group Policy. You and Your Dependents will only be insured for the benefits:

- for which You and Your Dependents become and remain eligible;
- which You elect, if subject to election; and
- which are in effect.

The amount of Insurance that We will pay for any insurance to which You make contributions will be decreased by the amount of Your contributions due and unpaid to Us for that insurance.

BENEFIT

BENEFIT AMOUNTS AND HIGHLIGHTS

Life Insurance For You

Supplemental Life Insurance

For Class 1 Employees:

Supplemental Life Insurance is Portability Eligible Insurance

Minimum Supplemental Life Benefit......\$10,000

Maximum Supplemental Life Benefit......\$300,000

Non-Medical Issue Amount \$50,000

Life amount not to exceed

\$300,000

For Class 2 Employees:

Supplemental Life Insurance is Portability Eligible Insurance

For Active Employees An amount, elected by You, which

is a multiple of \$10,000

Minimum Supplemental Life Benefit...... \$10,000

Maximum Supplemental Life Benefit......\$500,000

Non-Medical Issue Amount \$50,000

Life amount not to exceed

\$500,000

For Class 3 Retired Employees:

Supplemental Life Insurance is NOT Portability Eligible Insurance

For Retired Employees...... An amount equal to Your

Supplemental Life Insurance in effect immediately before the date

You retire.

Maximum Supplemental Life Benefit...... \$500,000

Life amount not to exceed

\$500,000

NOTE: You may reduce Your Supplemental Life benefit amount to an amount which is a multiple of \$10,000 as shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS for Class 1 and Class 2 employees for Supplemental Life Insurance.

For Class 4 Employees:

Supplemental Life Insurance is Portability Eligible Insurance

For Active Employees See Certificate of Insurance,

page 1 (GCERT2000 fp)

Non-Medical Issue Amount \$50,000

Life amount not to exceed

\$210,000

ESTATE RESOLUTION SERVICES

The following Estate Resolution Services are provided at no additional cost to individuals insured for Group Supplemental Life Insurance coverage as described below. If You are eligible to receive these Estate Resolution Services and You or Your Spouse (for the Will Preparation Service) or You or Your Spouse or a Beneficiary (for the Probate Service) would like to speak with a representative from MetLife Legal Plans or get the name of a Plan Attorney that you can speak with about these Services, please call (800) 821-6400.

THE FOLLOWING APPLIES TO RESIDENTS OF ALL STATES OTHER THAN TEXAS

Will Preparation Service

If You elect Group Supplemental Life Insurance coverage, a Will Preparation Service (the "Service") will be made available to You, through a MetLife affiliate (the "Affiliate"), while Your Group Supplemental Life Insurance coverage is in effect. This Service will be made available at no cost to You. It enables You to have a will prepared for You and Your Spouse free of charge by attorneys designated by the Affiliate. If You have a will prepared by an attorney not designated by the Affiliate, You must pay for the attorney's services directly. Upon Proof of such payment, You will be reimbursed for the attorney's services in an amount equal to the lesser of the amount You paid for the attorney's services and the amount customarily reimbursed for such services by the Affiliate.

Probate Service

If You become insured for Group Supplemental Life Insurance coverage and You or Your Spouse die while such Group Supplemental Life Insurance coverage is in effect, a probate benefit (the "Benefit") will be made available to Your estate in the event of Your death or to Your Spouse's estate in the event of Your Spouse's death. Such benefit will be made available through a MetLife affiliate ("Affiliate").

The Benefit provides for certain probate services to be made available, free of charge by attorneys designated by the Affiliate. If probate services are provided by an attorney not designated by the Affiliate, the estate of the deceased must pay for those attorney's services directly. Upon Proof of such payment, the estate of the deceased will be reimbursed for the attorney's services in an amount equal to the lesser of the amount such estate paid for the attorney's services and the amount customarily reimbursed for such services by the Affiliate.

This Benefit will be provided at no cost to You and will end on the date Your Group Supplemental Life Insurance coverage ends.

THE FOLLOWING APPLIES TO RESIDENTS OF TEXAS ONLY

Will Preparation Service

If You elect Group Supplemental Life Insurance coverage, a Will Preparation Service (the "Service") will be made available to You through a MetLife affiliate (the "Affiliate"), as agreed to by the Policyholder and MetLife, while Your Group Supplemental Life Insurance coverage is in effect under this Policy.

Will Preparation Service means a service covering the preparation of wills and codicils for You and Your Spouse. The creation of any testamentary trust is covered. The Will Preparation Service does not include tax planning.

This Service will be made available at no cost to You. It enables You to have a will prepared for You and Your Spouse free of charge by attorneys designated by the Affiliate. If You have a will prepared by an attorney not designated by the Affiliate, You must pay for the attorney's services directly. Upon Proof of such payment, You will be reimbursed for the attorney's services in an amount equal to the lesser of the amount You paid for the attorney's services and the amount customarily reimbursed for such services by the Affiliate.

Probate Service

If You become insured for Group Supplemental Life Insurance coverage and You or Your Spouse die while such Group Supplemental Life Insurance coverage is in effect, a probate benefit (the "Benefit") will be made available to Your estate in the event of Your death or to Your Spouse's estate in the event of Your Spouse's death. Such benefit will be made available through a MetLife affiliate ("Affiliate").

The Benefit includes attorney representation and payment of legal fees for the executor or administrator of the estate of the deceased including representation for the preparation of all documents and all of the court proceedings needed to transfer probate assets from the estate of the deceased to applicable heirs; and the completion of correspondence necessary to transfer non-probate assets such as proceeds from insurance policies, joint bank accounts, stock accounts or a house; and associated tax filings.

The Benefit provides for such services to be made available, free of charge by attorneys designated by the Affiliate. If probate services are provided by an attorney not designated by the Affiliate, the estate of the deceased must pay for those attorney's services directly. Upon Proof of such payment, the estate of the deceased will be reimbursed for the attorney's services in an amount equal to the lesser of the amount such estate paid for the attorney's services and the amount customarily reimbursed for such services by the Affiliate.

This Benefit will be provided at no cost to You and will end on the date Your Group Supplemental Life Insurance coverage ends.

For Class 3 Retired Employees:

If You Are Age 65 Or Older (Not applicable to Continuation Eligible Insurance described in the section entitled ELIGIBILITY FOR CONTINUATION OF CERTAIN INSURANCE WHILE YOU ARE TOTALLY DISABLED)

If You are age 65 or older on Your effective date of insurance, the appropriate percentage from the following table will be applied to the amount of Your **Supplemental Life insurance** on Your effective date of insurance.

If You are under age 65 on Your effective date of insurance, the amounts of Your **Supplemental Life insurance** on and after age 65 will be determined by applying the appropriate percentage from the following table to the amount of Your insurance in effect on the day before Your 65th birthday:

Age of Employee	<u>Percentage</u>
65 but less than 70	65%
70 but less than 75	45%
75 but less than 80	30%
80 or older	20%

- **NOTE 1:** Age reductions will apply on the first day of the month in which the insured retiree's applicable birthday occurs.
- **NOTE 2:** If You elect to reduce the amount of Your Supplemental Life Insurance after age 65, the reduction percentage will apply to Your reduced amount of insurance rather than the amount in effect on the day before Your 65th birthday.

Life Insurance For Your Dependents

For Class 1 and Class 2 Employees:

Life Insurance for Your Dependents is Portability Eligible Insurance

An amount, elected by You, which For Your Spouse.....

is a multiple of \$5,000

Minimum Spouse Dependent Life Benefit \$5,000

Maximum Spouse Dependent Life Benefit The lesser of 50% of Your

Supplemental Life Benefits or

\$150,000

\$25,000 Non-Medical Issue Amount.....

Accelerated Benefit Option Up to 100% of Your Dependent

Life amount not to exceed

\$150,000

For each of Your Children..... An amount, elected by You, which

is a multiple of \$5,000

Minimum Child Dependent Life Benefit \$5,000

Maximum Child Dependent Life Benefit The lesser of 50% of Your

Supplemental Life Benefits or

\$150,000

For Class 3 Retired Employees:

Life Insurance for Your Dependents is **NOT** Portability Eligible Insurance

An amount equal to Your For Your Spouse.....

Dependent Life Insurance in effect

immediately before the date You

retire.

Maximum Spouse Dependent Life Benefit \$150,000

Accelerated Benefit Option Up to 100% of Your Dependent

Life amount not to exceed

\$150,000

For each of Your Children..... An amount equal to Your

Dependent Life Insurance in effect immediately before the date You

retire.

NOTE: You may reduce Your Dependent Life benefit amount to an amount which is a multiple of

\$5,000 as shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS for Class 1 and Class 2 employees for

Dependent Life Insurance.

For Class 4 Employees:

Life Insurance for Your Dependents is Portability Eligible Insurance

For Your Spouse	See Certificate of Insurance, page 1 (GCERT2000 fp)
Non-Medical Issue Amount	\$25,000
Accelerated Benefit Option	Up to 100% of Your Dependent Life amount not to exceed \$105,000
For each of Your Children	See Certificate of Insurance, page 1 (GCERT2000 fp)

For Class 3 Retired Employees:

If You Are Age 65 Or Older - Dependent Life Insurance for Your Dependent Spouse

If You are age 65 or older on Your effective date of insurance for Your Dependent Spouse, the appropriate percentage from the following table will be applied to the amount of the **Dependent Life Insurance** for Your Dependent Spouse on Your Spouse's effective date of insurance.

If You are under age 65 on Your effective date of insurance for Your Dependent Spouse, the amount of the **Dependent Life Insurance** for Your Dependent Spouse on and after age 65 will be determined by applying the appropriate percentage from the following table to the amount of Your Dependent Spouse's insurance in effect on the day before Your 65th birthday:

Age of Employee	<u>Percentage</u>
65 but less than 70	65%
70 but less than 75	45%
75 but less than 80	30%
80 but less than 85	20%

- **NOTE 1:** Age reductions will apply on the first day of the month in which the insured retiree's applicable birthday occurs.
- **NOTE 2:** If You elect to reduce the amount of Your Dependent Life Insurance for Your Dependent Spouse after age 65, the reduction percentage will apply to Your reduced amount of insurance rather than the amount in effect on the day before Your 65th birthday.

Portability Eligible Life Insurance

Life Insurance For You:

Portability Eligible Life Insurance For You:

Insurance in effect on the date You elect to Port or

\$2,000,000

If Your Portability Eligible Insurance ends due to the end of the Group Policy or the amendment of the Group Policy to end the Portability Eligible Insurance for an eligible class of which You are a member, the maximum amount of insurance that You may Port is the lesser of:

- the amount of Your Portability Eligible Insurance that ends under the Group Policy less the amount of life insurance for which You become eligible under any group policy issued to replace this Group Policy; or
- \$10.000.

Life Insurance For Your Spouse:

Portability Eliqible Dependent Spouse Life Insurance:

Dependent Spouse Life Insurance alone)

Maximum Portability Eligible

> Dependent Spouse Life Insurance in effect on the date You elect to Port or

\$250,000

If Your Portability Eligible Insurance or Your Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance ends due to the end of the Group Policy or the amendment of the Group Policy to end the Portability Eligible Insurance or Your Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance for an eligible class of which You are a member, the maximum amount of insurance that You may Port is the lesser of:

- the amount of Your Portability Eligible Insurance or Your Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance that
 ends under the Group Policy less the amount of life insurance for which You become eligible under any
 group policy issued to replace this Group Policy; or
- \$10,000.

Life Insurance For Your Children:

Portability Eligible Dependent Child Life Insurance:

If Your Portability Eligible Insurance or Your Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance ends due to the end of the Group Policy or the amendment of the Group Policy to end the Portability Eligible Insurance or Your Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance for an eligible class of which You are a member, the maximum amount of insurance that You may Port is the lesser of:

- the amount of Your Portability Eligible Insurance or Your Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance that
 ends under the Group Policy less the amount of life insurance for which You become eligible under any
 group policy issued to replace this Group Policy; or
- \$10,000.

DEFINITIONS

As used in this certificate, the terms listed below will have the meanings set forth below. When defined terms are used in this certificate, they will appear with initial capitalization. The plural use of a term defined in the singular will share the same meaning.

Actively at Work or Active Work means that You are performing all of the usual and customary duties of Your job. This must be done at:

- the Policyholder's place of business;
- an alternate place approved by the Policyholder; or
- a place to which the Policyholder's business requires You to travel.

You will be deemed to be Actively at Work during weekends or Policyholder approved vacations, absences, holidays or business closures if You were Actively at Work on the last scheduled work day preceding such time off.

Beneficiary means the person(s) to whom We will pay insurance as determined in accordance with the GENERAL PROVISIONS section.

Child - For the Child Definition, please refer to the Child Definition Rider in the front of this certificate. For residents of Texas, the Child Definition is modified as explained in the Notice pages of this certificate; please consult the Notice.

Contributory Insurance means insurance for which the Policyholder requires You to pay any part of the premium.

Contributory Insurance includes: Supplemental Life Insurance and Dependent Life Insurance.

Dependent(s) means Your Spouse and/or Child.

Domestic Partner - For the Domestic Partner Definition, please refer to the Domestic Partner Definition Rider in the front of this certificate.

Hospital means a facility which is licensed as such in the jurisdiction in which it is located and:

- provides a broad range of medical and surgical services on a 24 hour a day basis for injured and sick persons by or under the supervision of a staff of Physicians; and
- provides a broad range of nursing care on a 24 hour a day basis by or under the direction of a registered professional nurse.

Hospitalized means:

- admission for inpatient care in a Hospital;
- receipt of care in the following:
 - a hospice facility;
 - an intermediate care facility; or
 - · a long term care facility; or
- receipt of the following treatment, wherever performed:
 - chemotherapy;
 - radiation therapy; or
 - dialysis.

DEFINITIONS (continued)

Physician means:

- a person licensed to practice medicine in the jurisdiction where such services are performed; or
- any other person whose services, according to applicable law, must be treated as Physician's services for purposes of the Group Policy. Each such person must be licensed in the jurisdiction where he performs the service and must act within the scope of that license. He must also be certified and/or registered if required by such jurisdiction.

The term does not include:

- You:
- Your Spouse; or
- any member of Your immediate family including Your and/or Your Spouse's:
 - parents;
 - · children (natural, step or adopted);
 - siblings;
 - grandparents; or
 - grandchildren.

Proof means Written evidence satisfactory to Us that a person has satisfied the conditions and requirements for any benefit described in this certificate. When a claim is made for any benefit described in this certificate, Proof must establish:

- the nature and extent of the loss or condition;
- · Our obligation to pay the claim; and
- the claimant's right to receive payment.

Proof must be provided at the claimant's expense.

Signed means any symbol or method executed or adopted by a person with the present intention to authenticate a record, which is on or transmitted by paper or electronic media which is acceptable to Us and consistent with applicable law.

Spouse means Your lawful spouse. Wherever the term "Spouse" appears in the certificate it shall, unless otherwise specified, be read to include Your Domestic Partner.

For the purposes of determining who may become covered for insurance, the term does not include any person who:

- is on active duty in the military of any country or international authority; however, active duty for this
 purpose does not include weekend or summer training for the reserve forces of the United States,
 including the National Guard; or
- is insured under the Group Policy as an employee.

We, Us and Our mean MetLife.

Written or **Writing** means a record which is on or transmitted by paper or electronic media which is acceptable to Us and consistent with applicable law.

You and **Your** mean an employee who is insured under the Group Policy for the insurance described in this certificate.

ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOU

ELIGIBLE CLASS(ES)

For Class 1: All Actively at Work full-time and part-time employees of the Policyholder as described below:

- Employees whose coverage is required by law, full-time employees, and part-time employees as defined by State Personnel and Pensions Article, §7-701, Annotated Code of Maryland, who are regularly paid salary or wages through an official State payroll center, including but not limited to:
 - Central Payroll Bureau;
 - Maryland Transit Administration;
 - The institutions of the University System of Maryland, including graduate assistants, and the Far East and European Divisions of the University of Maryland; or
- Elected officials; or
- Registers of Wills and employees of the offices of Registers of Wills; or
- · Clerk of Court and employees of the offices of Clerk of Court; or
- Board or Commission members who are regularly paid salary or wages and who work at least 50 percent of a normal work week; or
- Designated beneficiaries of deceased persons listed in §A(1)-(5), (7), and (8) of section 17.04.13.03 in accordance with State Personnel and Pensions Article, §§2-507, 2-508 and 2-509, Annotated Code of Maryland, with the following limitations:
 - In the case of more than one dependent child receiving the allowances or distributions noted above, each dependent child who receives the allowance or distribution is eligible to enroll independently; and
 - Notwithstanding any other provision in section 17.04.13.03, a surviving spouse or surviving child must meet the requirements to be a dependent eligible for coverage as provided in §A(9) of section 17.04.13.03; or
- Employees working less than 50 percent of a normal workweek and their designated beneficiaries, in accordance with Regulation .04B(3) of this chapter 17.04.13.03; or
- Contractual employees regularly working at least 30 hours per week, or an average of 130 hours per month, in accordance with 26 USC § 4980(H) and Regulation .04B(2) of this chapter 17.04.13.03.

For Class 2: All Actively at Work full-time employees of the Policyholder as described below:

- Employees who fly in a helicopter or fixed-wing aircraft in the course of their employment with the State of Maryland; or
- Employees who scuba dive in the course of their employment with the State of Maryland.

For Class 3: All Class 1 and Class 2 retired employees of the Policyholder including retirees as described below:

- Retired employees who began State service on or before June 30, 2011, or who began State service on or after July 1, 2011 and are retirees of the Judges' Retirement System, and who qualify in accordance with §§A(7)(a) and (b) of this regulation. Neither service as a faculty member, teacher, or staff member for a community college or a local board of education prior or subsequent to State service, nor membership in the Teachers' Pension or Retirement Systems, shall in itself disqualify a former State employee who is otherwise eligible under §A(7) of this regulation. The only retired employees eligible for benefits under §A(7) of this regulation are those who:
 - Receive a retirement allowance pursuant to State Personnel and Pensions Article, Division II, Annotated Code of Maryland, and who have:
 - Retired directly from State service with a State retirement allowance on or after July 1, 1984, provided that the employee had at least 5 years of creditable service; or

- Terminated State service with 16 years or more of creditable service; or
- Terminated State service before July 1, 1984; or
- Terminated State service with 10 years of creditable service and within 5 years of normal retirement age; or
- Receive a periodic distribution of benefits from the Maryland Optional Retirement Program under State Personnel and Pensions Article, Title 30, Annotated Code of Maryland, and who have:
 - Ended service with a State institution of higher education with at least 10 years of service and were at least age 57; or
 - Ended service with a State institution of higher education with at least 16 years of service; or
 - Retired directly from and had at least 5 years of service with a State institution of higher education on or after July 1, 1984; or
- Retired employees who began State service on or after July 1, 2011, and who qualify in accordance with §A(8)(a) and (b) of this regulation. Neither service as a faculty member, teacher, or staff member for a community college or a local board of education prior or subsequent to State service, nor membership in the Teachers Pension or Retirement Systems, shall in itself disqualify a former State employee who is otherwise eligible under §A(8) of this regulation. The only retired employees eligible for benefits under §A(8) of this regulation are those who:
 - Receive a retirement allowance pursuant to State Personnel and Pensions Article, Division II, Annotated Code of Maryland, and who have:
 - Retired directly from State service with a State retirement allowance provided that the employee had at least 10 years of creditable service; or
 - Terminated State service with 25 years or more of creditable service; or
 - Terminated State service with 10 years of creditable service and within 5 years of normal retirement age; or
 - Receive a periodic distribution of benefits from the Maryland Optional Retirement Program under State Personnel and Pensions Article, Title 30, Annotated Code of Maryland, and who have:
 - Ended service with a State institution of higher education with at least 10 years of service and were at least age 57; or
 - Ended service with a State institution of higher education with at least 25 years of service; or
 - Retired directly from and had at least 10 years of service with a State institution of higher education on or after July 1, 2011.

You are eligible for insurance if You were Actively at Work and covered for insurance on the day immediately preceding the date of Your retirement and have retired in accord with the Policyholder's retirement plan. Please be aware that:

- references to Active Work and Actively at Work will not apply; and
- end of employment will mean the end of the person's status as a retiree, as stated in the Policyholder's retirement plan.

For Class 4: Named Actively at Work employees who were insured under the Policyholder's life insurance plan on December 31, 2022 and who have elected to retain such option on and after January 1, 2023.

DATE YOU ARE ELIGIBLE FOR INSURANCE

You may only become eligible for the insurance available for Your eligible class as shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS.

If You are in an eligible class on January 1, 2024, You will be eligible for the insurance described in this certificate on that date.

If You enter an eligible class after January 1, 2024, You will be eligible for the insurance described in this certificate on the date You enter that class.

Previous Employment With The Policyholder

If You were employed by the Policyholder and insured by Us under a policy of group life insurance when Your employment ended, You will not be eligible for life insurance under this Group Policy if You are re-hired by the Policyholder within 2 years after such employment ended, unless You surrender:

- any individual policy of life insurance to which You converted when Your employment ended; and
- any certificate of insurance continued as ported insurance when such employment ended.

The cash value, if any, of such surrendered insurance will be paid to You.

ENROLLMENT PROCESS FOR CLASS 1, CLASS 2 AND CLASS 4

If You are eligible for insurance, You may enroll for such insurance by completing the required form. In addition, You must give evidence of Your Insurability satisfactory to Us at Your expense if You are required to do so under the section entitled EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY. If You enroll for Contributory Insurance, You must also give the Policyholder Written permission to deduct premiums from Your pay for such insurance. You will be notified by the Policyholder how much You will be required to contribute.

The insurance listed below is part of a flexible benefits plan established by the Policyholder. Subject to the rules of the flexible benefits plan and the Group Policy, You may enroll for:

• Supplemental Life Insurance

only when You are first eligible or during an annual enrollment period or if You have a Qualifying Event. You should contact the Policyholder for more information regarding the flexible benefits plan.

DATE YOUR INSURANCE THAT IS PART OF THE FLEXIBLE BENEFITS PLAN TAKES EFFECT FOR CLASS 1, CLASS 2 AND CLASS 4

Enrollment When First Eligible

If You complete the enrollment process within 60 days of becoming eligible for insurance, such insurance will take effect as follows:

- if You are **not required** to give evidence of Your insurability, such insurance will take effect on the date You become eligible for such insurance if You are Actively at Work on that date.
- if You are **required** to give evidence of Your insurability and We determine that You are insurable, the benefit will take effect on the date We state in Writing, provided You are Actively at Work on that date.

If You do not complete the enrollment process within 60 days of becoming eligible, You will not be able to enroll for insurance until the next annual enrollment period, as determined by the Policyholder, following the date You first became eligible. At that time You will be able to enroll for insurance for which You are then eligible.

If You are not Actively at Work on the date insurance would otherwise take effect, insurance will take effect on the day You resume Active Work.

Enrollment During An Annual Enrollment Period

During any annual enrollment period as determined by the Policyholder, You may enroll for insurance for which You are eligible or choose a different option than the one for which You are currently enrolled. The insurance enrolled for or changes to Your insurance made during an annual enrollment period will take effect as follows:

- for any amount for which You are **not required** to give evidence of Your insurability, such insurance will take effect on the first day of the calendar year following the annual enrollment period, if You are Actively at Work on that date.
- for any amount for which You are required to give evidence of Your insurability and We determine that
 You are insurable, such insurance will take effect on the date We state in Writing, if You are Actively at
 Work on that date.

If You are not Actively at Work on the date an amount of insurance would otherwise take effect, that amount of insurance will take effect on the day You resume Active Work.

Enrollment Due to a Qualifying Event

Under the rules of the flexible benefit plan, You may enroll for insurance for which You are eligible or change the amount of Your insurance between annual enrollment periods only if You have a Qualifying Event.

Qualifying Event includes:

- marriage;
- the birth, adoption or placement for adoption of a dependent child;
- divorce, legal separation or annulment;
- the death of a dependent;
- a change in Your or Your dependent's residence, if it causes You or Your dependent to gain or lose eligibility for group coverage;
- a change in Your or Your dependent's employment status, such as beginning or ending employment, strike, lockout, taking or ending a leave of absence, changes in worksite or work schedule, if it causes You or Your dependent to gain or lose eligibility for group coverage; or
- a significant curtailment in Your current option, a significant improvement in an option for which You are not enrolled, a significant increase or decrease in cost for one or more of the options under the Policyholder's plan or a new benefit option under the Policyholder's plan.

If You have a Qualifying Event, You will have 60 days from the date of that change to make a request. This request must be consistent with the nature of the Qualifying Event. The insurance enrolled for, or changes to Your insurance made as a result of a Qualifying Event will take effect as follows:

- for any amount for which You are not required to give evidence of Your insurability, such insurance will
 take effect on the first day of the month following the date of Your request, if You are Actively at Work on
 that date.
- for any amount for which You are **required** to give evidence of Your insurability and We determine that You are insurable, such insurance will take effect on the date We state in Writing, if You are Actively at Work on that date.

If You are not Actively at Work on the date insurance would otherwise take effect, insurance will take effect on the day You resume Active Work.

ENROLLMENT PROCESS FOR CLASS 3

If You are eligible for insurance, You may enroll for such insurance by completing the required form. If You enroll for Contributory Insurance, You must also give the Policyholder Written permission to deduct premiums from Your pension for such insurance. You will be notified by the Policyholder how much You will be required to contribute.

DATE YOUR INSURANCE THAT IS PART OF THE FLEXIBLE BENEFITS PLAN TAKES EFFECT FOR CLASS 3

Enrollment When First Eligible

If You complete the enrollment process before the date You become eligible for insurance, such insurance will take effect on the date You become eligible for such insurance.

If You do not complete the enrollment before the date You become eligible, You will not be eligible for insurance.

Changes During An Annual Enrollment Period

During any annual enrollment period as determined by the Policyholder, You may reduce or terminate Your insurance. The changes to Your insurance made during an annual enrollment period will take effect on the first day of the calendar year following the annual enrollment period.

Changes Due to a Qualifying Event

You may reduce or terminate Your insurance if You have a Qualifying Event.

Qualifying Event includes:

- marriage;
- the birth, adoption or placement for adoption of a dependent child;
- divorce, legal separation or annulment;
- the death of a dependent;
- a change in Your or Your dependent's residence, if it causes You or Your dependent to gain or lose eligibility for group coverage;
- a change in Your or Your dependent's employment status, such as beginning or ending employment, strike, lockout, taking or ending a leave of absence, changes in worksite or work schedule, if it causes You or Your dependent to gain or lose eligibility for group coverage; or
- a significant curtailment in Your current option, a significant improvement in an option for which You are not enrolled, a significant increase or decrease in cost for one or more of the options under the Policyholder's plan or a new benefit option under the Policyholder's plan.

If You have a Qualifying Event, You will have 60 days from the date of that change to make a request. This request must be consistent with the nature of the Qualifying Event. The insurance enrolled for, or changes to Your insurance made as a result of a Qualifying Event will take effect on the first day of the month following the date of Your request.

DATE YOUR INSURANCE ENDS

Your insurance will end on the earliest of:

- 1. the date the Group Policy ends; or
- 2. the date insurance ends for Your class; or
- 3. the date You cease to be in an eligible class; or
- 4. with respect to contributory insurance, the end of the period for which the last contribution toward premium was paid by You; or
- 5. last day of the calendar month in which Your employment ends; Your employment will end if You cease to be Actively at Work in any eligible class, except as stated in the section entitled CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM PAYMENT; or
- 6. for Class 4, the date You retire in accordance with the Policyholder's retirement plan.

The ending of Your insurance will not prejudice a loss which occurred or a Disability which began while Your insurance was in effect.

Please refer to the section entitled ELIGIBILITY FOR CONTINUATION OF CERTAIN INSURANCE WHILE YOU ARE TOTALLY DISABLED for information concerning continuation of Your Life Insurance if insurance ends while You are Totally Disabled. Please refer to the section entitled LIFE INSURANCE: CONVERSION OPTION FOR YOU for information concerning the option to convert to an individual policy of life insurance if Your Life Insurance ends.

In certain cases insurance may be continued as stated in the section entitled CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM PAYMENT.

ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS

ELIGIBLE CLASS(ES) FOR DEPENDENT INSURANCE

For Class 1: All Actively at Work full-time and part-time employees of the Policyholder as described below:

- Employees whose coverage is required by law, full-time employees, and part-time employees as defined by State Personnel and Pensions Article, §7-701, Annotated Code of Maryland, who are regularly paid salary or wages through an official State payroll center, including but not limited to:
 - Central Payroll Bureau;
 - Maryland Transit Administration;
 - The institutions of the University System of Maryland, including graduate assistants, and the Far East and European Divisions of the University of Maryland; or
- Elected officials: or
- Registers of Wills and employees of the offices of Registers of Wills; or
- Clerk of Court and employees of the offices of Clerk of Court; or
- Board or Commission members who are regularly paid salary or wages and who work at least 50 percent
 of a normal work week: or
- Dependents of eligible persons listed in §A(1)-(5), (7), (8), (10), and (11) of section 17.04.13.03 who are one of the following:
 - A spouse of an employee or retired employee; or
 - A dependent child of an employee or retired employee, as identified in this chapter 17.04.13.03; or
- Employees working less than 50 percent of a normal workweek and their designated beneficiaries, in accordance with Regulation .04B(3) of this chapter 17.04.13.03; or
- Contractual employees regularly working at least 30 hours per week, or an average of 130 hours per month, in accordance with 26 USC § 4980(H) and Regulation .04B(2) of this chapter 17.04.13.03.

For Class 2: All Actively at Work full-time employees of the Policyholder as described below:

- Employees who fly in a helicopter or fixed-wing aircraft in the course of their employment with the State of Maryland; or
- Employees who scuba dive in the course of their employment with the State of Maryland.

For Class 3: All Class 1 and Class 2 retired employees of the Policyholder including retirees as described below:

- Retired employees who began State service on or before June 30, 2011, or who began State service on or after July 1, 2011 and are retirees of the Judges' Retirement System, and who qualify in accordance with §§A(7)(a) and (b) of this regulation. Neither service as a faculty member, teacher, or staff member for a community college or a local board of education prior or subsequent to State service, nor membership in the Teachers' Pension or Retirement Systems, shall in itself disqualify a former State employee who is otherwise eligible under §A(7) of this regulation. The only retired employees eligible for benefits under §A(7) of this regulation are those who:
 - Receive a retirement allowance pursuant to State Personnel and Pensions Article, Division II, Annotated Code of Maryland, and who have:
 - Retired directly from State service with a State retirement allowance on or after July 1, 1984, provided that the employee had at least 5 years of creditable service; or
 - Terminated State service with 16 years or more of creditable service; or
 - Terminated State service before July 1, 1984; or
 - Terminated State service with 10 years of creditable service and within 5 years of normal retirement age; or

- Receive a periodic distribution of benefits from the Maryland Optional Retirement Program under State Personnel and Pensions Article, Title 30, Annotated Code of Maryland, and who have:
 - Ended service with a State institution of higher education with at least 10 years of service and were at least age 57; or
 - Ended service with a State institution of higher education with at least 16 years of service; or
 - Retired directly from and had at least 5 years of service with a State institution of higher education on or after July 1, 1984; or
- Retired employees who began State service on or after July 1, 2011, and who qualify in accordance with §A(8)(a) and (b) of this regulation. Neither service as a faculty member, teacher, or staff member for a community college or a local board of education prior or subsequent to State service, nor membership in the Teachers Pension or Retirement Systems, shall in itself disqualify a former State employee who is otherwise eligible under §A(8) of this regulation. The only retired employees eligible for benefits under §A(8) of this regulation are those who:
 - Receive a retirement allowance pursuant to State Personnel and Pensions Article, Division II, Annotated Code of Maryland, and who have:
 - Retired directly from State service with a State retirement allowance provided that the employee had at least 10 years of creditable service;
 - Terminated State service with 25 years or more of creditable service; or
 - Terminated State service with 10 years of creditable service and within 5 years of normal retirement age; or
- Receive a periodic distribution of benefits from the Maryland Optional Retirement Program under State Personnel and Pensions Article, Title 30, Annotated Code of Maryland, and who have:
 - Ended service with a State institution of higher education with at least 10 years of service and were at least age 57; or
 - Ended service with a State institution of higher education with at least 25 years of service; or
 - Retired directly from and had at least 10 years of service with a State institution of higher education on or after July 1, 2011.

You are eligible for insurance if You were Actively at Work and covered for insurance on the day immediately preceding the date of Your retirement and have retired in accord with the Policyholder's retirement plan. Please be aware that:

- references to Active Work and Actively at Work will not apply; and
- end of employment will mean the end of the person's status as a retiree, as stated in the Policyholder's retirement plan.

For Class 4: Named Actively at Work employees who were insured under the Policyholder's life insurance plan on December 31, 2022 and who have elected to retain such option on and after January 1, 2023.

DATE YOU ARE ELIGIBLE FOR DEPENDENT INSURANCE

You may only become eligible for the Dependent insurance available for Your eligible class as shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS.

For Class 1, Class 2 and Class 4 Employees:

If You are in an eligible class on January 1, 2024, You will be eligible for Dependent insurance on the later of:

- 1. January 1, 2024; and
- 2. the date You obtain a Dependent.

If You enter an eligible class after January 1, 2024, You will be eligible for Dependent insurance on the later of:

- 1. the date You enter a class eligible for insurance; and
- 2. the date You obtain a Dependent.

No person may be insured as a Dependent of more than one employee.

For Class 3 Retired Employees:

You will be eligible for Dependent insurance described in this certificate on the latest of:

- 1. January 1, 2024; and
- 2. the date You enter a class eligible for insurance.

ENROLLMENT PROCESS FOR CLASS 1, CLASS 2 AND CLASS 4

In order to enroll for Life Insurance for Your Dependents, You must either (a) already be enrolled for Supplemental Life Insurance for You or (b) enroll at the same time for Supplemental Life Insurance for You.

If You become eligible for Dependent insurance, You may enroll for such insurance by providing Us with the information We require for each Dependent to be insured. In addition, each of Your Dependents must give evidence of insurability satisfactory to Us at Your expense if required to do so under the section entitled EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY. If You enroll for Contributory Insurance, You must also give the Policyholder written permission to deduct premiums from Your pay for such insurance. You will be notified by the Policyholder how much You will be required to contribute.

Once You have enrolled one Child for a Dependent insurance benefit, each succeeding Child will automatically be covered for such insurance on the date that Child qualifies as a Dependent.

The insurance listed below is part of a flexible benefits plan established by the Policyholder. Subject to the rules of the flexible benefits plan and the Group Policy, You may enroll for:

Dependent Life Insurance;

only when You are first eligible or during an annual enrollment period or if You have a Qualifying Event. You should contact the Policyholder for more information regarding the flexible benefits plan.

DATE INSURANCE THAT IS PART OF THE FLEXIBLE BENEFITS PLAN TAKES EFFECT FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS FOR CLASS 1, CLASS 2 AND CLASS 4

Enrollment When First Eligible

If You complete the enrollment process for Dependent insurance within 60 days of becoming eligible for insurance, such insurance will take effect for each enrolled Dependent as follows:

- if the Dependent is **not required** to give evidence of insurability, such insurance will take effect on the date You become eligible for such insurance if You are Actively at Work on that date and the Dependent satisfies the Additional Requirement stated below.
- if the Dependent is **required** to give evidence of insurability and We determine that the Dependent is insurable, such insurance will take effect on the date We state in Writing, if You are Actively at Work on that date and the Dependent satisfies the Additional Requirement stated below.

Once You have enrolled one Child for a Dependent insurance benefit, each succeeding Child will automatically be covered for such insurance on the date that Child qualifies as a Dependent.

If You do not complete the enrollment process for any Dependent within 60 days of becoming eligible, You will not be able to enroll for Dependent insurance until the next annual enrollment period, as determined by the Policyholder, in accordance with the rules of the flexible benefits plan. At that time You will be able to enroll for Dependent insurance:

- for which You are then eligible; and
- for Your Dependents who are then eligible.

If You are not Actively at Work on the date Dependent insurance would otherwise take effect, insurance will take effect on the day You resume Active Work.

Enrollment During An Annual Enrollment Period

During any annual enrollment period, You may enroll for Dependent insurance for which You are eligible or change the amount of Your Dependent insurance. The insurance enrolled for or changes to Your insurance made during the annual enrollment period will take effect for each enrolled Dependent as follows:

- if the Dependent is **not required** to give evidence of insurability, such insurance will take effect on the first day of the calendar year following the annual enrollment period, if You are Actively at Work on that date and the Dependent satisfies the Additional Requirement stated below.
- if the Dependent is **required** to give evidence of insurability and We determine that the Dependent is insurable, such insurance will take effect on the date We state in Writing, if You are Actively at Work on that date and the Dependent satisfies the Additional Requirement stated below.

Once You have enrolled one Child for a Dependent insurance benefit, each succeeding Child will automatically be covered for such insurance on the date that Child qualifies as a Dependent.

If You are not Actively at Work on the date Dependent insurance would otherwise take effect, insurance will take effect on the day You resume Active Work.

Enrollment Due to a Qualifying Event

Under the rules of the flexible benefit plan, You may enroll for Dependent insurance for which You are eligible or change the amount of Your Dependent insurance between annual enrollment periods only if You have a Qualifying Event.

Qualifying Event includes:

- marriage;
- the birth, adoption or placement for adoption of a dependent child;
- divorce, legal separation or annulment;
- the death of a dependent;
- a change in Your or Your dependent's residence, if it causes You or Your dependent to gain or lose eligibility for group coverage;
- a change in Your or Your dependent's employment status, such as beginning or ending employment, strike, lockout, taking or ending a leave of absence, changes in worksite or work schedule, if it causes You or Your dependent to gain or lose eligibility for group coverage; or
- a significant curtailment in Your current option, a significant improvement in an option for which You are not enrolled, a significant increase or decrease in cost for one or more of the options under the Policyholder's plan or a new benefit option under the Policyholder's plan.

If You have a Qualifying Event, You will have 60 days from the date of that change to make a request. This request must be consistent with the nature of the Qualifying Event. The insurance enrolled for or changes to Your insurance made as a result of a Qualifying Event will take effect for each enrolled Dependent as follows:

- if the Dependent is **not required** to give evidence of insurability, such insurance will take effect on the first day of the month following the date of Your request, if You are Actively at Work on that date and the Dependent satisfies the Additional Requirement stated below.
- if the Dependent is **required** to give evidence of insurability and We determine that the Dependent is insurable, such insurance will take effect on the date We state in Writing, if You are Actively at Work on that date and the Dependent satisfies the Additional Requirement stated below.

Once You have enrolled one Child for a Dependent insurance benefit, each succeeding Child will automatically be covered for such insurance on the date that Child qualifies as a Dependent.

If You are not Actively at Work on the date insurance would otherwise take effect, insurance will take effect on the day You resume Active Work.

Additional Requirement

On the date Dependent insurance is scheduled to take effect, the Dependent must not be:

- confined at home under a Physician's care;
- receiving or applying to receive disability benefits from any source; or
- Hospitalized.

If the Dependent does not meet this requirement on such date, insurance for the Dependent will take effect on the date that Dependent is no longer:

- confined;
- · receiving or applying to receive disability benefits from any source; or
- Hospitalized.

The Additional Requirement will not apply to a mentally or physically handicapped Child who has been continuously handicapped since a date before the Child reached the limiting age under this certificate and for whom satisfactory Proof of such handicap has been provided as specified under the "Child" definition.

ENROLLMENT PROCESS FOR CLASS 3

You may enroll for such insurance by providing Us with the information We require for each Dependent to be insured. If You enroll for Contributory Insurance, You must also give the Policyholder written permission to deduct premiums from Your pension for such insurance. You will be notified by the Policyholder how much You will be required to contribute.

DATE INSURANCE THAT IS PART OF THE FLEXIBLE BENEFITS PLAN TAKES EFFECT FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS FOR CLASS 3

Enrollment When First Eligible

If You complete the enrollment process for Dependent insurance before the date You become eligible for insurance, such insurance will take effect for each enrolled Dependent on the date You become eligible for such insurance, if the Dependent satisfies the Additional Requirement stated below.

If You do not complete the enrollment process for any Dependent before the date You become eligible, You will not be eligible for insurance.

Changes During An Annual Enrollment Period

During any annual enrollment period, You may reduce or terminate Your Dependent insurance. The changes to Your insurance made during the annual enrollment period will take effect for each enrolled Dependent on the first day of the calendar year following the annual enrollment period, if the Dependent satisfies the Additional Requirement stated below.

Changes Due to a Qualifying Event

You may reduce or terminate Your Dependent insurance if You have a Qualifying Event.

Qualifying Event includes:

- marriage
- birth, adoption or placement for adoption of a dependent child
- divorce, legal separation or annulment
- · death of a dependent
- a change in Your or Your dependent's residence, if it causes You or Your dependent to gain or lose eligibility for group coverage
- a change in Your or Your dependent's employment status, such as beginning or ending employment, strike, lockout, taking or ending a leave of absence, changes in worksite or work schedule, if it causes You or Your dependent to gain or lose eligibility for group coverage
- a significant curtailment in Your current option, a significant improvement in an option for which You are not enrolled, a significant increase or decrease in cost for one or more of the options under the Policyholder's plan or a new benefit option under the Policyholder's plan.

If You have a Qualifying Event, You will have 60 days from the date of that change to make a request. This request must be consistent with the nature of the Qualifying Event. The insurance enrolled for or changes to Your insurance made as a result of a Qualifying Event will take effect for each enrolled Dependent on the first day of the month following the date of Your request, if he Dependent satisfies the Additional Requirement stated below.

Additional Requirement

On the date the Dependent insurance is scheduled to take effect, the Dependent must not be:

- confined at home under a Physician's care;
- receiving or applying to receive disability benefits from any source; or
- Hospitalized.

If the Dependent does not meet this requirement on such date, insurance for the Dependent will take effect on the date that Dependent is no longer:

- confined;
- receiving or applying to receive disability benefits from any source; or
- Hospitalized.

The Additional Requirement will not apply to a mentally or physically handicapped Child who has been continuously handicapped since a date before the Child reached the limiting age under this certificate and for whom satisfactory Proof of such handicap has been provided as specified under the "Child" definition.

DATE YOUR INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS ENDS

A Dependent's insurance will end on the earliest of:

- 1. for Dependent Life Insurance, the date all of the Life Insurance under the Group Policy ends; or
- 2. the date You die; or
- 3. the date the Group Policy ends; or
- 4. the date You cease to be in an eligible class; or
- 5. the date Your Employee Life Insurance under the Group Policy ends; or
- 6. the date Insurance for Your Dependents ends under the Group Policy; or
- 7. the date Insurance for Your Dependents ends for Your class; or
- 8. the date the person ceases to be a Dependent; or
- the last day of the calendar month in which Your employment ends; Your employment will end if You
 cease to be Actively at Work in any eligible class, except as stated in the section entitled
 CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM PAYMENT; or
- 10. for a Child who is past the age limit and is otherwise eligible for coverage under the term Child or continuation under the **CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM PAYMENT: For Mentally or Physically Handicapped Children** subsection, on the date the Child marries; or
- 11. with respect to contributory insurance, the end of the period for which the last contribution toward premium was paid by You; or
- 12. for Class 4, the date You retire in accordance with the Policyholder's retirement plan.

The ending of Dependent insurance will not prejudice a loss which occurred or a Disability which began while Dependent Insurance was in effect.

Please refer to the section entitled ELIGIBILITY FOR CONTINUATION OF CERTAIN INSURANCE WHILE YOU ARE TOTALLY DISABLED for information concerning continuation of Life Insurance for your Dependents if insurance ends while You are Totally Disabled. Please refer to the section entitled LIFE INSURANCE: CONVERSION OPTION FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS for information concerning the option to convert to an individual policy of life insurance if Life Insurance for a Dependent ends.

In certain cases insurance may be continued as stated in the section entitled CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM PAYMENT.

SPECIAL RULES FOR GROUPS PREVIOUSLY COVERED UNDER OTHER GROUP LIFE INSURANCE

The following rules will apply if the Life Insurance under this Group Policy replaces other group Life insurance provided to You by the Policyholder.

Prior Plan means the group life insurance underwritten by another insurer and provided to You by the Policyholder on the day before the Replacement Date.

Replacement Date means the effective date of the Life Insurance under this Group Policy.

Rules if You and Your Dependents were Covered Under the Prior Plan on the Day Before the Replacement Date:

- 1. Actively at Work on the Replacement Date If You and Your Dependent(s) were covered under the Prior Plan on the day before the Replacement Date and You are Actively at Work in an eligible class on the Replacement Date, You will be insured under this Group Policy for an amount of Life Insurance referred to as Active Employee Coverage. The amount of the Active Employee Coverage on the Replacement Date will be the amount of Life Insurance described in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS.
- 2. **Not Actively at Work on the Replacement Date** If You and Your Dependent(s) were covered under the Prior Plan on the day before the Replacement Date and You are not Actively at Work on the Replacement Date, but You would otherwise be a member of an eligible class if You were Actively at Work on the Replacement Date, You will be insured under this Group Policy for an amount of Life Insurance referred to as Transition Coverage. The amount of the Transition Coverage on the Replacement Date will be the lesser of:
 - the amount of group life insurance in effect under the Prior Plan, and
 - the amount of Life Insurance available under this Group Policy for the eligible class to which You belong.

While Transition Coverage is in effect, the amount of coverage will continue to be determined in accordance with the provisions of the plan used to determine the amount of Transition Coverage on the Replacement Date.

If You are not Actively at Work on the Replacement Date due to a disability, Transition Coverage will remain in effect on and after the Replacement Date until the earliest of:

- the date You return to Active Work as a member of an eligible class, at which time Active Employee Coverage will supersede the Transition Coverage;
- the date Life Insurance would otherwise end in accordance with the terms and conditions of this certificate;
- the date on which Your life insurance under the Prior Plan would have ended for any reason other than the Prior Plan ending;
- the date You are approved for extension of life insurance without premium payment under the terms of Prior Plan; and
- if the Prior Plan provided for extension of life insurance without premium payment during a period of disability, the last day of the 12-month period following the Replacement Date.

SPECIAL RULES FOR GROUPS PREVIOUSLY COVERED UNDER OTHER GROUP LIFE INSURANCE (continued)

In any other case where You are not Actively at Work on the Replacement Date, Transition Coverage will remain in effect on and after the Replacement Date until the earliest of:

- the date You return to Active Work as a member of an eligible class, at which time Active Employee Coverage will supersede the Transition Coverage; and
- the date Life Insurance would otherwise end in accordance with the terms and conditions of this certificate.

Rules if You and Your Dependents were <u>NOT</u> Covered Under the Prior Plan on the Day Before the Replacement Date:

- You will be eligible for the Life Insurance under this Group Policy when You meet the eligibility requirements for such insurance as described in ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOU and ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS; and
- 2. We will credit any time accumulated toward any eligibility waiting period under the Prior Plan to the satisfaction of any eligibility Waiting Period required to be met under this Life Insurance.

CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM PAYMENT

FOR MENTALLY OR PHYSICALLY HANDICAPPED CHILDREN

Insurance for a Dependent Child may be continued past the age limit if the child is incapable of self-sustaining employment because of a mental or physical incapacity as defined by applicable law. Proof of such incapacity must be sent to Us within 31 days after the date the Child attains the age limit and at reasonable intervals after such date.

Subject to the DATE YOUR INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS ENDS subsection of the section entitled ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS, insurance will continue while such Child:

- remains incapable of self-sustaining employment because of a mental or physical incapacity; and
- continues to qualify as a Child, except for the age limit.

FOR FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE

Certain leaves of absence may qualify for continuation of insurance under the Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (FMLA), or other legally mandated leave of absence or similar laws. Please contact the Policyholder for information regarding such legally mandated leave of absence laws.

AT YOUR OPTION: PORTABILITY

For Life Insurance

If Your Portability Eligible Insurance or Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance ends for any of the reasons stated below, You have the option to continue that insurance under another group policy in accordance with the conditions and requirements of this section. This is referred to as Porting. Evidence of Your insurability will not be required.

For purposes of this subsection the term "Portability Eligible Insurance" refers to Your Life Insurance benefits for which the Portability Eligible Insurance is shown as available in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS.

If Insurance for Your Dependents is in effect, the term "Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance" refers to Your Life Insurance for Your Dependents for which the Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance is shown as available in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS.

When Porting is an Option

Porting may only be exercised by a request in Writing during the Request Period specified below.

If You choose not to Port, Life Insurance benefits may be converted in accordance with the section entitled LIFE INSURANCE: CONVERSION OPTION FOR YOU or the section entitled LIFE INSURANCE: CONVERSION OPTION FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS.

- 1. You may choose to Port if Portability Eligible Insurance and/or Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance ends because:
 - · You become retired from active service with the Employer; or
 - Your employment ends, due to a reason other than retirement; or
 - · You cease to be in a class that is eligible for such insurance; or
 - the Policy is amended to end the Portability Eligible Insurance or Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance, unless such insurance is replaced by similar insurance under another group insurance policy issued to the Policyholder or its successor; or
 - this Policy has ended, unless such insurance is replaced by similar insurance under another group insurance policy issued to the Policyholder or its successor.

- 2. You may choose to Port the reduced amount of insurance if Your Portability Eligible Insurance is reduced due to:
 - · Your age; or
 - an amendment to the Plan which affects the amount of insurance for Your class.
- 3. Your former Dependent Spouse may choose to Port if their Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance on his or her own life ends because:
 - · You die; or
 - Your marriage ends in divorce or annulment; or
 - Your Domestic Partnership, Civil Union or Reciprocal Beneficiary relationship ends

provided that former Dependent Spouse satisfies the Additional Requirement subsection of the ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS; INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS.

- 4. Your former Dependent Spouse may also Port Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance on Your Dependent Child if Your former Dependent Spouse Ports insurance on his or her own life. If Your former Dependent Spouse Ports that insurance on that Dependent Child, that Porting will have no effect on the insurance You may have on that Dependent Child.
- 5. Your former Dependent Child may request to Port Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance on his or her own life if that insurance ends because Your former Dependent Child no longer meets the definition of Child.

If a request is made under this subsection, We will issue a new certificate of insurance which will explain the new insurance benefits. The insurance benefits under the new certificate may not be the same as those that ended under this Policy.

A request under this subsection may be made, if on the date the Portability Eligible Insurance or Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance ended, the following requirements are met:

- the Group Policy is in effect;
- with respect to any amount of Portability Eligible Life Insurance or Portability Eligible Dependent Life
 Insurance that is to be Ported, no application has been made to convert that amount of insurance to an
 individual policy of life insurance as provided in the section entitled LIFE INSURANCE: CONVERSION
 OPTION FOR YOU or the section entitled LIFE INSURANCE: CONVERSION OPTION FOR YOUR
 DEPENDENTS: and
- the person making the request resides in a jurisdiction that permits this Portability feature.

Request Period

For You or a former Dependent to Port, We must receive a completed request form within the Request Period as described below.

If written notice of the option to Port is given within 15 days before or after the date such insurance ends, the Request Period:

- begins on the date the insurance ends, and
- expires 31 days after the date.

If written notice of the option to Port is given more than 15 days after but within 91 days of the date such insurance ends, the Request Period:

- · begins on the date the insurance ends, and
- expires 45 days after the date of the notice.

If written notice of the option to Port is not given within 91 days of the date such insurance ends, the Request Period:

- begins on the date the insurance ends, and
- expires at the end of such 91 day period.

Amount of the New Certificate

The amount of Ported Insurance for You and for Your Dependents that may be continued is shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS. However, at the time of Porting You may change the amount of Portability Eligible Insurance in the following circumstances:

Your Increase in Amount

For Portability Eligible Life Insurance

At the time of Porting, You may increase the amount of Your Portability Eligible Life Insurance. This may be done in increments of \$25,000, up to a maximum ported amount of \$2,000,000. To be eligible for this increased amount, You must provide evidence of Your insurability satisfactory to us, at Your expense. If We approve the increase, it will take effect on the date We state in Writing.

Dependent Spouse Increase in Amount

For Portability Eligible Dependent Life Insurance

At the time of Porting, the amount of Your Spouse's (or Your former Dependent Spouse's) Portability Eligible Dependent Life Insurance may be increased. This may be done in increments of \$25,000, up to a maximum ported amount of \$250,000. To be eligible for this increased amount, Your Spouse (or Your former Dependent Spouse) must provide evidence of insurability satisfactory to us, at Your Spouse's (or Your former Dependent Spouse's) expense. If We approve the increase, it will take effect on the date We state in Writing.

Dependent Child Increase in Amount

For Portability Eligible Dependent Life Insurance

At the time of Porting, if Your former Dependent Child is making the request to continue Portability Eligible Dependent Life Insurance because he or she no longer meets the definition of a Child, that former Dependent Child is eligible to increase coverage by \$25,000. To be eligible for this increased amount, Your former Dependent Child must give evidence of insurability satisfactory to Us at Your former Dependent Child's expense. If we approve the increase, it will take effect on the date We state in Writing.

You and/or Your Dependent(s) Decrease in Amount

If We receive a request to decrease an amount of insurance, any such decrease will take place on the date We state in Writing.

Premiums for the New Certificate

All premium payments must be made directly to Us. When We issue the new certificate, We will also provide a schedule of premiums and payment instructions.

You are not required to provide evidence of insurability to Port Your existing amount of Portability Eligible Life Insurance. However, to qualify for a lower premium rate, You may give us, at Your expense, evidence of Your insurability satisfactory to Us. If We determine that the evidence satisfies Us, We will notify You that the lower premium rates will apply to You.

Your former Dependents are not required to provide evidence of insurability to Port their existing amount of Portability Eligible Dependent Life Insurance. However, to qualify for a lower premium rate, they may give us, at their expense, evidence of their insurability satisfactory to Us. If We determine that the evidence satisfies Us, We will notify them that the lower premium rates will apply to them.

Right to Convert Life Insurance Amounts Not Ported

Any amount of Life Insurance not Ported under this subsection may be converted under the section entitled LIFE INSURANCE: CONVERSION OPTION FOR YOU or the section entitled LIFE INSURANCE: CONVERSION OPTION FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS.

If You Die Within 31 Days of the Date Portability Eligible Life Insurance Ends

If You die within 31 days of the date Portability Eligible Life Insurance ends and an application to Port is not received by Us during such period, We will determine whether Your life insurance qualifies for payment. This determination will be made in accordance with the section entitled LIFE INSURANCE: CONVERSION OPTION FOR YOU.

If a former Dependent Dies Within 31 Days of the Date Portability Eligible Life Dependent Insurance Ends

If a former Dependent dies within 31 days of the date Portability Eligible Dependent Life Insurance ends and an application for a new certificate is not received by Us during such period, We will determine whether Your life insurance qualifies for payment. This determination will be made in accordance with the section entitled LIFE INSURANCE: CONVERSION OPTION FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS.

If You are Totally Disabled on the Date Your Employment Ends

If You are Totally Disabled on the date Your employment ends and You elect to Port as provided in this subsection, You may at a later date become approved for the continuation of insurance under the section entitled ELIGIBILITY FOR CONTINUATION OF CERTAIN INSURANCE WHILE YOU ARE TOTALLY DISABLED. If You are so approved, all Ported insurance continued under this Portability subsection will end, including Life Insurance and Dependent Life Insurance.

AT THE POLICYHOLDER'S OPTION

The Policyholder has elected to continue insurance by paying premiums for employees who cease Active Work in an eligible class for any of the reasons specified below:

- 1. if You cease Active Work due to injury or sickness, for a period in accordance with the Policyholder's general practice for an employee in Your job class;
- 2. if You cease Active Work due to layoff, for a period in accordance with the Policyholder's general practice for an employee in Your job class;
- 3. if You cease Active Work due to any other Policyholder approved leave of absence, for a period in accordance with the Policyholder's general practice for an employee in Your job class.

The Policyholder's general practice for employees in a job class determines which employees with the above types of absences are to be considered as still insured and for how long among persons in like situations.

At the end of any of the continuation periods listed above, Your insurance will be affected as follows:

- if You resume Active Work in an eligible class at this time, You will continue to be insured under the Group Policy;
- if You do not resume Active Work in an eligible class at this time, Your employment will be considered to
 end and Your insurance will end in accordance with the DATE YOUR INSURANCE ENDS subsection of
 the section entitled ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOU.

If Your insurance ends, Your Dependents' insurance will also end in accordance with the DATE YOUR INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS ENDS subsection of the section entitled ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS.

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY

We require evidence of insurability satisfactory to Us as follows:

- 1. in order to become covered for an amount of Life Insurance greater than the Non-Medical Issue Amount as shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS.
 - If You do not give Us evidence of Your insurability, or if such evidence of insurability is not accepted by Us as satisfactory, the amount of Your Life Insurance will be limited to the Non-Medical Issue Amount.
- if You make a request during an annual enrollment period to increase the amount of Your Life Insurance which is at or **below** the Non-Medical Issue Amount to an option level **above** the Non-Medical Issue Amount.
 - If You do not give Us evidence of insurability or the evidence of insurability is not accepted by Us as satisfactory, the amount of Your Life Insurance will be limited to the Non-Medical Issue Amount.
- 3. if You make a request during an annual enrollment period to increase the amount of Your Life Insurance which is above the Non-Medical Issue Amount to a greater amount.
 - If You do not give Us evidence of insurability or the evidence of insurability is not accepted by Us as satisfactory, the amount of Your Life Insurance will not be increased.
- 4. if You make a request due to a Qualifying Event to increase the amount of Your Life Insurance which is at or **below** the Non-Medical Issue Amount to an option **above** the Non-Medical Issue Amount.
 - If You do not give Us evidence of insurability or the evidence of insurability is not accepted by Us as satisfactory, the amount of Your Life Insurance will be limited to the Non-Medical Issue Amount.
- 5. if You make a request due to a Qualifying Event to increase the amount of Your Life Insurance which is above the Non-Medical Issue Amount to a greater amount.
 - If You do not give Us evidence of insurability or the evidence of insurability is not accepted by Us as satisfactory, the amount of Your Life Insurance will not be increased.
- 6. if You make a late request during an annual enrollment period for Life Insurance for an amount of Life Insurance greater than the Non-Medical Issue Amount as shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS. A late request is one made more than 60 days after You become eligible.
 - If You do not give Us evidence of insurability or the evidence of insurability is not accepted by Us as satisfactory, the amount of Your Life Insurance will be limited to the Non-Medical Issue Amount.
- 7. if You make a late request due to a Qualifying Event for Life Insurance for an amount of Life Insurance greater than the Non-Medical Issue Amount as shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS. A late request is one made more than 60 days after You become eligible. A late request is one made more than 60 days after You become eligible.
 - If You do not give Us evidence of insurability or the evidence of insurability is not accepted by Us as satisfactory, the amount of Your Life Insurance will be limited to the Non-Medical Issue Amount.
- 8. in order to become covered for an amount of Life Insurance for Your Dependent Spouse greater than the Non-Medical Issue Amount for Your Dependent Spouse as shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS.
 - If You do not give Us evidence of the insurability of Your Dependent Spouse, or if such evidence of insurability is not accepted by Us as satisfactory, the amount of Life Insurance for Your Dependent Spouse will be limited to the Non-Medical Issue Amount for Your Dependent Spouse.
- if You make a request during an annual enrollment period to increase the amount of Life Insurance for Your Dependent Spouse which is at or **below** the Non-Medical Issue Amount to an option level **above** the Non-Medical Issue Amount.
 - If You do not give Us evidence of insurability or the evidence of insurability is not accepted by Us as satisfactory, the amount of Your Dependent Spouse's Life Insurance will be limited to the Non-Medical Issue Amount.
- 10. if You make a request during an annual enrollment period to increase the amount of Life Insurance for Your Dependent Spouse which is **above** the Non-Medical Issue Amount to a greater amount.
 - If You do not give Us evidence of insurability or the evidence of insurability is not accepted by Us as satisfactory, the amount of Your Dependent Spouse's Life Insurance will not be increased.

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY (continued)

- 11. if You make a request due to a Qualifying Event to increase the amount of Life Insurance for Your Dependent Spouse which is at or **below** the Non-Medical Issue Amount to an option **above** the Non-Medical Issue Amount.
 - If You do not give Us evidence of insurability or the evidence of insurability is not accepted by Us as satisfactory, the amount of Life Insurance for Your Dependent Spouse will be limited to the Non-Medical Issue Amount.
- 12. if You make a request due to a Qualifying Event to increase the amount of Life Insurance for Your Dependent Spouse which is above the Non-Medical Issue Amount to a greater amount.
 - If You do not give Us evidence of insurability or the evidence of insurability is not accepted by Us as satisfactory, the amount of Life Insurance for Your Dependent Spouse will not be increased.
- 13. if You make a late request during an annual enrollment period for Life Insurance for Your Dependent Spouse for an amount greater than the Non-Medical Issue Amount for Your Dependent Spouse as shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS. A late request is one made more than 60 days after You become eligible for Life Insurance for Your Dependent Spouse.
 - If You do not give Us evidence of insurability or the evidence of insurability is not accepted by Us as satisfactory, the amount of Life Insurance for Your Dependent Spouse will be limited to the Non-Medical Issue Amount for Your Dependent Spouse.
- 14. if You make a late request due to a Qualifying Event for Life Insurance for Your Dependent Spouse for an amount greater than the Non-Medical Issue Amount for Your Dependent Spouse as shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS. A late request is one made more than 60 days after You become eligible for Life Insurance for Your Dependent Spouse.
 - If You do not give Us evidence of insurability or the evidence of insurability is not accepted by Us as satisfactory, the amount of Life Insurance for Your Dependent Spouse will be limited to the Non-Medical Issue Amount for Your Dependent Spouse.

The evidence of insurability is to be given at Your expense.

LIFE INSURANCE: FOR YOU

If You die, Proof of Your death must be sent to Us. When We receive such Proof with the claim, We will review the claim and, if We approve it, will pay the Beneficiary the Life Insurance in effect on the date of Your death.

PAYMENT OPTIONS

We will pay the Life Insurance in one sum. Other modes of payment may be available upon request. For details, call Our toll free number shown on the Certificate Face Page.

LIFE INSURANCE: FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS

If a Dependent dies, Proof of the Dependent's death must be sent to Us. When We receive such Proof with the claim, We will review the claim and, if We approve it, will pay the Beneficiary the Life Insurance in effect on the life of such Dependent on the date of death.

PAYMENT OPTIONS

We will pay the Life Insurance in one sum. Other modes of payment may be available upon request. For details, call Our toll free number shown on the Certificate Face Page.

LIFE INSURANCE: ACCELERATED BENEFIT OPTION (ABO) FOR YOU

For purposes of this section, the term "ABO Eligible Life Insurance" refers to each of Your Life Insurance benefits for which the Accelerated Benefit Option is shown as available in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS.

If You become Terminally III, You or Your legal representative have the option to request Us to pay ABO Eligible Life Insurance before Your death. This is called an accelerated benefit. The request must be made while ABO Eligible Life Insurance is in effect.

Terminally III or **Terminal Illness** means that due to injury or sickness, You are expected to die within 12 months.

Requirements For Payment of an Accelerated Benefit

Subject to the conditions and requirements of this section, We will pay an accelerated benefit to You or Your legal representative if:

- the amount of each ABO Eligible Life Insurance benefit to be accelerated equals or exceeds \$10,000; and
- We have received Proof that You are Terminally III; and
- If the insurance to be accelerated is assigned at the time the request is made, You or Your legal representative must provide Us with a signed consent from each assignee approving payment of the requested amount to You or Your legal representative.

We will only pay an accelerated benefit for each ABO Eligible Life Insurance benefit once.

Proof of Your Terminal Illness

We will require the following Proof of Your Terminal Illness:

- a completed accelerated benefit claim form;
- a signed Physician's certification that You are Terminally III; and
- an examination by a Physician of Our choice, at Our expense, if We request it.

You or Your legal representative should contact Us to obtain a claim form and information regarding the accelerated benefit.

Upon Our receipt of Your request to accelerate benefits, We will send You a letter with information about the accelerated benefit payment You requested. Our letter will describe the amount of the accelerated benefits We will pay and the amount of Life Insurance remaining after the accelerated benefit is paid.

Accelerated Benefit Amount

We will pay an accelerated benefit up to the percentage shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS for each ABO Eligible Life Insurance benefit in effect for You, subject to the following:

Maximum Accelerated Benefit Amount. The maximum amount We will pay for each ABO Eligible Life Insurance benefit is shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS.

Scheduled Reduction of an ABO Eligible Life Insurance Benefit. If an ABO Eligible Life Insurance benefit is scheduled to reduce within the 12 month period after the date You or Your legal representative request an accelerated benefit, We will calculate the accelerated benefit using the amount of such ABO Eligible Life Insurance that will be in effect immediately after the reduction(s) scheduled for such period.

Scheduled End of an ABO Eligible Life Insurance Benefit. If an ABO Eligible Life Insurance benefit is scheduled to end within 12 months after the date You or Your legal representative request an accelerated benefit, We will not pay an accelerated benefit for such ABO Eligible Life Insurance benefit.

LIFE INSURANCE: ACCELERATED BENEFIT OPTION (ABO) FOR YOU (continued)

Previous Conversion of an ABO Eligible Life Insurance Benefit. We will not pay an accelerated benefit for any amount of ABO Eligible Life Insurance which You previously converted under the section entitled LIFE INSURANCE: CONVERSION OPTION FOR YOU.

We will pay the accelerated benefit in one sum unless You or Your legal representative select another payment mode.

Effect of Payment of an Accelerated Benefit

On Contribution for Your Life Insurance. After We pay the accelerated benefit, any future contributions for Life Insurance You are required to pay will be waived.

On Your Life Insurance at Your death. The amount of Life Insurance that We will pay at Your death will be decreased by the amount of the accelerated benefit paid by Us.

On Your Life Insurance at conversion. The amount to which You are entitled to convert under the section entitled LIFE INSURANCE: CONVERSION OPTION FOR YOU will be decreased by the amount of the accelerated benefit paid by Us.

Date Your Option to Accelerate Benefits Ends

The accelerated benefit option will end on the earliest of:

- the date the ABO Eligible Life Insurance ends; or
- the date You or Your legal representative have accelerated all ABO Eligible Life Insurance benefits.

LIFE INSURANCE: ACCELERATED BENEFIT OPTION (ABO) FOR YOUR SPOUSE

If Your Spouse becomes Terminally III, You or Your legal representative have the option to request Us to pay Life Insurance for Your Spouse before Your Spouse's death. This is called an accelerated benefit. The request must be made while Life Insurance for Your Spouse is in effect.

Terminally III or **Terminal Illness** means that due to injury or sickness, Your Spouse is expected to die within 12 months.

Requirements For Payment of an Accelerated Benefit

Subject to the conditions and requirements of this section, We will pay an accelerated benefit to You or Your legal representative if:

- the amount of Life Insurance for the Terminally III Spouse equals or exceeds \$10,000; and
- We have received Proof that Your Spouse is Terminally III; and
- If the insurance to be accelerated is assigned at the time the request is made, You or Your legal representative must provide Us with a signed consent from each assignee approving payment of the requested amount to You or Your legal representative.

We will only pay an accelerated benefit for Life Insurance for Your Spouse once.

Proof of Your Spouse's Terminal Illness

We will require the following Proof of Your Spouse's Terminal Illness:

- a completed accelerated benefit claim form;
- a signed Physician's certification that Your Spouse is Terminally III; and
- an examination by a Physician of Our choice, at Our expense, if We request it.

You or Your legal representative should contact Us to obtain a claim form and information regarding the accelerated benefit.

Upon Our receipt of Your request to accelerate benefits, We will send You a letter with information about the accelerated benefit payment You requested. Our letter will describe the amount of the accelerated benefits We will pay and the amount of Life Insurance remaining after the accelerated benefit is paid.

Accelerated Benefit Amount

We will pay an accelerated benefit up to the percentage shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS for the amount of Life Insurance in effect for a Terminally III Spouse, subject to the following:

Maximum Accelerated Benefit Amount. The maximum amount We will pay is shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS.

Scheduled Reduction of Life Insurance for a Terminally III Spouse. If the Life Insurance in effect for a Terminally III Spouse is scheduled to reduce within the 12 month period after the date You or Your legal representative request an accelerated benefit, We will calculate the accelerated benefit using the amount of Life Insurance that will be in effect for Your Spouse immediately after the reduction(s) scheduled for such period.

Scheduled end of Life Insurance for a Terminally III Spouse. If the Life Insurance in effect for a Terminally III Spouse is scheduled to end within 12 months after the date You or Your legal representative request an accelerated benefit, We will not pay an accelerated benefit.

We will pay the accelerated benefit in one sum unless You or Your legal representative select another payment mode.

LIFE INSURANCE: ACCELERATED BENEFIT OPTION (ABO) FOR YOUR SPOUSE (continued)

Effect of Payment of an Accelerated Benefit

On Contribution for Life Insurance. After We pay the accelerated benefit, any future contributions for Life Insurance You are required to pay for Life Insurance for Your Spouse will be waived.

On Payment of Life Insurance at a Dependent's death. The amount of Life Insurance that We will pay at death of Your Spouse for whom We paid an accelerated benefit will be decreased by the amount of the accelerated benefit paid by Us for such Dependent.

On Life Insurance at conversion. The amount to which Your Spouse for whom We paid an accelerated benefit is entitled to convert under the section entitled LIFE INSURANCE: CONVERSION OPTION FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS provision will be decreased by the amount of the accelerated benefit paid by Us for Your Spouse.

Date Your Option to Accelerate Benefits Ends

The accelerated benefit option for Your Spouse will end on the earliest of:

- the date Life Insurance for Your Spouse ends; or
- the date You or Your legal representative have accelerated all Dependent Life Insurance benefits.

LIFE INSURANCE: CONVERSION OPTION FOR YOU

If Your life insurance ends or is reduced for any of the reasons stated below, You have the option to buy an individual policy of life insurance ("new policy") from Us during the Application Period in accordance with the conditions and requirements of this section. This is referred to as the "option to convert". Evidence of Your insurability will not be required.

When You Will Have the Option to Convert

You will have the option to convert when:

- A. Your life insurance ends because:
 - You cease to be in an eligible class;
 - Your employment ends;
 - this Group Policy ends, provided You have been insured for life insurance for at least 5 continuous years; or
 - this Group Policy is amended to end all life insurance for an eligible class of which You are a member, provided You have been insured for at least 5 continuous years; or
- B. Your life insurance is reduced:
 - on or after the date You attain age 60;
 - because You change from one eligible class to another; or
 - due to an amendment of this Group Policy.

If You opt not to convert a reduction in the amount of Your life insurance as described above, You will not have the option to convert that amount at a later date.

A reduction in the amount of Your life insurance as a result of the payment of an accelerated benefit will not give rise to a right to convert under this section.

Application Period

If You opt to convert Your life insurance for any of the reasons stated above, We must receive a completed conversion application form from You within the Application Period described below.

If You are given Written notice of the option to convert within 15 days before or after the date Your life insurance ends or is reduced, the Application Period begins on the date that such life insurance ends or is reduced and expires 31 days after such date.

If You are given Written notice of the option to convert more than 15 days after the date Your life insurance ends or is reduced, the Application Period begins on the date such life insurance ends or is reduced and expires 15 days from the date of such notice. In no event will the Application Period exceed 91 days from the date Your life insurance ends or is reduced.

Option Conditions

The option to convert is subject to the following:

- A. Our receipt within the Application Period of:
 - Your Written application for the new policy; and
 - the premium due for such new policy;

LIFE INSURANCE: CONVERSION OPTION FOR YOU (continued)

- B. the premium rates for the new policy will be based on:
 - Our rates then in use;
 - the form and amount of insurance for which you apply;
 - Your class of risk; and
 - Your age;
- C. the new policy may be on any form then customarily offered by Us excluding term insurance;
- D. the new policy will be issued without an accidental death and dismemberment benefit, an accelerated benefit option, a waiver of premium benefit or any other rider or additional benefit; and
- E. the new policy will take effect on the 32nd day after the date Your life insurance ends or is reduced; this will be the case regardless of the duration of the Application Period.

Maximum Amount of the New Policy

If Your Life Insurance ends due to the end of this Group Policy or the amendment of this Group Policy to end all life insurance for an eligible class of which You are a member, the maximum amount of insurance that You may elect for the new policy is the lesser of:

- the amount of Your life insurance that ends under this Group Policy less the amount of life insurance for which You become eligible under any group policy within 31 days after the date insurance ends under this Group Policy; or
- \$10,000.

If Your life insurance ends or is reduced due to the Policyholder's organizational restructuring, the maximum amount of insurance that You may elect for the new policy is the amount of Your life insurance that ends under this Group Policy less the amount of life insurance for which You become eligible under any other group policy within 31 days after the date insurance ends under this Group Policy.

If Your life insurance ends or is reduced for any other reason, the maximum amount of insurance that You may elect for the new policy is the amount of Your life insurance which ends under this Group Policy.

ADDITIONAL PROVISIONS IF YOU DIE OR BECOME DISABLED UNDER CERTAIN CONDITIONS

If You Die Within 31 Days After Your Life Insurance Ends Or Is Reduced

If You die within 31 days after Your life insurance ends or is reduced by an amount You are entitled to convert, Proof of Your death must be sent to Us. When We receive such Proof with the claim, We will review the claim and if We approve it will pay the Beneficiary. The amount We will pay is the amount You were entitled to convert.

The amount You were entitled to convert will not be paid as insurance under both a new individual conversion policy and the Group Policy.

If You Become Eligible To Have Insurance Continued Due To Your Total Disability

If You obtain a new individual conversion policy because Your life insurance ends or is reduced and You later become eligible to have insurance continued under the section entitled ELIGIBILITY FOR CONTINUATION OF CERTAIN INSURANCE WHILE YOU ARE TOTALLY DISABLED, We will only continue Your life insurance under such section if the conversion policy is returned to Us.

If the conversion policy is returned to Us, We will refund the premium paid for such policy without interest, less any debt incurred under such policy.

We will not pay a benefit for insurance under both the Group Policy and the new individual conversion policy.

LIFE INSURANCE: CONVERSION OPTION FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS

If life insurance for a Dependent ends or is reduced for any of the reasons stated below, You or that Dependent will have the option to buy from Us an individual policy of life insurance on the life of the Dependent ("new policy") during the Application Period in accordance with the conditions and requirements of this section. This is referred to as "the option to convert". Evidence of the Dependent's insurability will not be required.

When You or a Dependent Will Have the Option to Convert

You will have the option to convert life insurance for a Dependent when:

- A. life insurance for the Dependent ends because:
 - You cease to be in an eligible class;
 - Your employment ends;
 - this Group Policy ends, provided You have been insured for life insurance for the Dependent for at least 5 continuous years; or
 - this Group Policy is amended to end all life insurance for Dependents for an eligible class of which
 You are a member, provided You have been insured for life insurance for the Dependent for at least 5
 continuous years; or
- B. life insurance for the Dependent is reduced:
 - on or after the date You attain age 60;
 - because You change from one eligible class to another; or
 - · due to an amendment of this Group Policy.

A Dependent will have the option to convert when:

- life insurance for such Dependent ends because that Dependent ceases to qualify as a Dependent as
 defined in this certificate, or
- You die.

If You opt not to convert a reduction in the amount of life insurance for a Dependent, You will not have the option to convert that amount at a later date.

A reduction in the amount of life insurance for a Dependent as a result of the payment of an accelerated benefit will not give rise to a right to convert under this section.

You must notify Us in the event that a Dependent ceases to qualify as a Dependent as defined in this certificate.

Application Period

If You or a Dependent opt to convert as stated above, We must receive a completed conversion application form within the Application Period described below.

If Written notice of the option to convert is given within 15 days before or after the date life insurance for a Dependent ends or is reduced, the Application Period begins on the date that such life insurance ends or is reduced and expires 31 days after such date.

If Written notice of the option to convert is given more than 15 days after the date life insurance for the Dependent ends or is reduced, the Application Period begins on the date such life insurance ends or is reduced and expires 15 days from the date of such notice. In no event will the Application Period exceed 91 days from the date Life Insurance for the Dependent ends or is reduced.

LIFE INSURANCE: CONVERSION OPTION FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS (continued)

Option Conditions

The option to convert is subject to the following:

- A. Our receipt within the Application Period of:
 - a Written application for the new policy for the Dependent; and
 - the premium due for such new policy;
- B. the premium rates for the new policy will be based on:
 - Our rates then in use;
 - the form and amount of insurance which is applied for;
 - the Dependent's class of risk; and
 - the Dependent's age;
- C. the new policy may be on any form then customarily offered by Us excluding term insurance;
- D. the new policy will be issued without an accidental death and dismemberment benefit, an accelerated benefit option, waiver of premium benefit or any other rider or additional benefit; and
- E. the new policy will take effect on the 32nd day after the date Life Insurance for the Dependent ends or is reduced; this will be the case regardless of the duration of the Application Period.

Maximum Amount of the New Policy

If Life Insurance for a Dependent ends due to the end of this Group Policy or the amendment of this Group Policy to end all life insurance for Dependents for an eligible class of which You are a member, the maximum amount of insurance that may be elected for the new policy is the lesser of:

- the amount of Life Insurance for the Dependent that ends under this Group Policy less the amount of life insurance for Dependents for which You become eligible under any group policy within 31 days after the date insurance ends under this Group Policy; or
- \$10,000.

If life insurance for a Dependent ends or is reduced due to the Policyholder's organizational restructuring, the maximum amount of insurance that may be elected for the new policy is the amount of life insurance for the Dependent that ends under this Group Policy less the amount of life insurance for dependents for which You become eligible under any other group policy within 31 days after the date insurance ends under this Group Policy.

If Your life insurance for a Dependent ends or is reduced for any other reason, the maximum amount of insurance that You may elect for the new policy is the amount of Your life insurance for a Dependent that ends under this Group Policy.

ADDITIONAL PROVISIONS IF A DEPENDENT DIES

If a Dependent Dies Within the 31 Days After Life Insurance for a Dependent Ends Or Is Reduced

If a Dependent dies within 31 days after the date life insurance for the Dependent ends or is reduced by an amount eligible for convert, Proof of the Dependent's death must be sent to Us. When we receive such Proof with the claim, We will review the claim and if We approve it, will pay the Beneficiary. The amount We will pay is the amount that could have been converted.

The amount that could have been converted will not be paid as insurance under both a new individual conversion policy and the Group Policy.

ELIGIBILITY FOR CONTINUATION OF CERTAIN INSURANCE WHILE YOU ARE TOTALLY DISABLED

If You become Totally Disabled while You are insured for Continuation Eligible Insurance under this policy, You may qualify to continue certain insurance under this section. If continued, premium payment will not be required. We will determine if You qualify for this continuation after We receive Proof that You have satisfied the conditions of this section.

Total Disability must start before You attain age 60 and while You are insured for Continuation Eligible Insurance.

Your Total Disability must continue without interruption from the date You became Totally Disabled through the end of the Continuation Waiting Period.

DEFINITIONS

For the purpose of this section, "Continuation Eligible Insurance" means

- Supplemental Life Insurance, if You were insured for Supplemental Life Insurance for 12 months before Total Disability began;
- Dependent Life Insurance if You continue Supplemental Life Insurance;

to the extent that such insurance was in effect for You on the date Your Total Disability began.

Continuation Eligible Insurance does not include:

 Life Insurance amounts accelerated under the section entitled LIFE INSURANCE: ACCELERATED BENEFIT OPTION FOR YOU.

Continuation Waiting Period means the period which starts on the date You become Totally Disabled and ends 9 consecutive months later.

Total Disability or Totally Disabled means, for purposes of this section, that due to an injury or Sickness:

- You are unable to perform the material duties of Your regular job; and
- You are unable to perform any other job for which You are fit by education, training or experience.

TOTAL DISABILITY AND PROOF REQUIREMENTS

If You become disabled You should contact Us as soon as reasonably possible. After the Continuation Waiting Period ends, You must send Us Proof that You were Totally Disabled with no interruption throughout the Continuation Waiting Period. You must do this within the time frame specified in the section entitled FILING A CLAIM.

As part of such Proof, We may choose a Physician to examine You to verify that You are Totally Disabled. We will pay for the exam.

After We receive and review Your Proof, We will determine if You qualify. We will notify You in writing of Our decision.

To verify that You continue to be Totally Disabled without interruption, We may require from time to time that You send Us Proof that You continue to be Totally Disabled. We will not ask for Proof more than once each year.

ELIGIBILITY FOR CONTINUATION OF CERTAIN INSURANCE WHILE YOU ARE TOTALLY DISABLED (continued)

IF YOU DIE DURING CONTINUATION

If You or Your Dependent die during the continuation, Proof of the death must be sent to Us. In addition to the Proof which is otherwise required for the insurance, the Proof must show that Your Total Disability continued with no interruption from the date We informed You that the continuation was approved until the date of the death.

When We receive such Proof with the claim, We will review the claim and if We approve it, will pay any benefit payable under the insurance continued under this section.

EFFECT OF PREVIOUS CONVERSION

If You converted any portion of Your Continuation Eligible Life Insurance to an individual policy, We will only pay the life insurance under this section if the individual policy is returned to Us. If it is returned to Us, We will refund to Your estate the premiums paid for such policy without interest, less any debt incurred under such policy.

If such individual policy is not returned to Us, We will pay the life insurance in effect under the individual policy.

We will not pay insurance under both the Group Policy and the individual policy.

EFFECT OF PREVIOUS ELECTION TO PORT COVERAGE

If You ported any portion of Your Continuation Eligible Insurance to a certificate under another policy, We will only pay insurance under this section if the other policy's certificate is surrendered to Us. If it is returned to Us, We will refund to Your estate the premiums paid under such policy without interest.

If that certificate is not returned to Us, We will pay any insurance which applies under the other policy's certificate.

We will not pay insurance under both this Group Policy and the other policy.

DATE CONTINUATION ENDS

The Continuation Eligible Insurance continued under this section may be continued in a reduced amount on account of the payment of accelerated benefits and will end at the earliest of:

- 1. the date You die:
- 2. the date Your Total Disability ends;
- 3. the date You do not give Us Proof of Total Disability, as required;
- 4. the date You refuse to be examined by Our Physician, as required;
- 5. the date You attain age 65;
- 6. with respect to Dependent Life Insurance, the date You no longer have any Dependents.

Option To Convert Your Continuation Eligible Life Insurance

When a continuation under this section ends, You may buy an individual policy of life insurance from Us. The details of this option are described in the section entitled LIFE INSURANCE: CONVERSION OPTION FOR YOU and LIFE INSURANCE: CONVERSION OPTION FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS. For the purpose of that section, the end of this continuation will be considered the end of Your employment. You may not use the conversion option described in those sections if before the end of the Application Period for conversion You return to Active Work in an eligible class and become insured under the Group Policy. You will not be able to convert any of Your Continuation Eligible Life Insurance which You have already converted to an individual policy.

ELIGIBILITY FOR CONTINUATION OF CERTAIN INSURANCE WHILE YOU ARE TOTALLY DISABLED (continued)

Option To Port Your Continuation Eligible Insurance

When a continuation under this section ends, You may elect to port to a different policy the insurance which has been continued under this section. The details of this option are described in the At Your Option: Portability subsection of the CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM PAYMENT section. For the purpose of that section, the end of this continuation will be considered the end of Your employment. You may not use the portability option described in that section if before the end of the Portability Request Period, You return to Active Work in an eligible class and become insured under the Group Policy. You will not be able to port any of Your Continuation Eligible Insurance which You have already converted to an individual policy.

FILING A CLAIM

CLAIMS FOR LIFE INSURANCE BENEFITS

When there has been the death of an insured person, notify Us by calling 1-866-574-2863. This notice should be given to as soon as is reasonably possible after the death. The claim form will be sent to the beneficiary or beneficiaries of record.

The beneficiary or beneficiaries should complete the claim form and send it and Proof of the death to Us as instructed on the claim form.

When We receive the claim form and Proof, We will review the claim and, if We approve it, We will pay benefits subject to the terms and provisions of this certificate and the Group Policy. The benefit amount may be reduced by the amount of any due and unpaid contributions to premium outstanding at the time We make payment.

When a claimant files a claim to continue Life Insurance on account of Total Disability, notice and Proof should be sent to Us as soon as reasonably possible, but in any event must be received by Us within 12 months of the date the claimant became Totally Disabled, except in the case of legal incapacity of the claimant.

GENERAL PROVISIONS

Assignment

The rights and benefits under the Group Policy are not assignable prior to a claim for benefits, except as required by law. We are not responsible for the validity of an assignment.

Beneficiary

You may designate a Beneficiary in Your application or enrollment form. You may change Your Beneficiary at any time. To do so, You must send a Signed and dated, Written request to Us using a form satisfactory to Us. Your Written request to change the Beneficiary must be sent to Us within 30 days of the date You Sign such request.

You do not need the Beneficiary's consent to make a change. When We receive the change, it will take effect as of the date You Signed it. The change will not apply to any payment made in good faith by Us before the change request was recorded.

If two or more Beneficiaries are designated and their shares are not specified, they will share the insurance equally.

If there is no Beneficiary designated or no surviving Beneficiary at Your death, We will determine the Beneficiary according to the following order:

- 1. Your Spouse or Domestic Partner, if alive;
- 2. Your child(ren), if there is no surviving Spouse or Domestic Partner;
- 3. Your parent(s), if there is no surviving child;
- 4. Your sibling(s), if there is no surviving parent; or
- 5. Your estate, if there is no surviving sibling.

Any payment made in good faith will discharge our liability to the extent of such payment.

If a Beneficiary or a payee is a minor or incompetent to receive payment, We will pay that person's guardian.

For Your Life Insurance for Your Dependents, We will pay You as the Beneficiary if alive. If you are not alive, We will determine the Beneficiary according to the following order:

- 1. Your Spouse or Domestic Partner, if alive;
- 2. Your child(ren), if there is no surviving Spouse or Domestic Partner;
- 3. Your parent(s), if there is no surviving child;
- 4. Your sibling(s), if there is no surviving parent; or
- 5. Your estate, if there is no surviving sibling.

Any payment made in good faith will discharge our liability to the extent of such payment.

If You and any Dependent die within a 24 hour period, We will pay the Dependent's Life Insurance to the Beneficiary receiving payment of your Life Insurance or We may pay Your estate. If a Beneficiary or a payee is a minor or incompetent to receive payment, We will pay that person's guardian.

GENERAL PROVISIONS (continued)

Entire Contract

Your insurance is provided under a contract of group insurance with the Policyholder. The entire contract with the Policyholder is made up of the following:

- 1. the Group Policy and its Exhibits, which include the certificate(s);
- 2. the Policyholder's application, attached to the Group Policy; and
- 3. any amendments and/or endorsements to the Group Policy.

A change in the policy will not be valid:

- 1. until approved by an executive officer of MetLife; and
- 2. unless the approval is endorsed on the policy or attached to the policy.

Contestability: Statements Made by You

In the absence of fraud, any statement made by You will be considered a representation and not a warranty. We will not use such statement to avoid insurance, reduce benefits or defend a claim unless the following requirements are met:

- 1. the statement is in a Written application or enrollment form;
- 2. You have Signed the application or enrollment form; and
- 3. a copy of the application or enrollment form has been given to You or Your Beneficiary.

We will not contest insurance, except for non-payment of premium, after it has been in force for 2 years from the date of issue. A statement made by You while covered relating to the insurability may not be used in contesting the validity of the insurance with respect to which the statement was made after the insurance has been in force before the contest for a period of 2 years during Your life.

Contestability: Statements Made by the Policyholder

In the absence of fraud, any statement made by the Policyholder will be considered a representation and not a warranty. We will not use such statement to avoid insurance, reduce benefits or defend a claim, except for non-payment of premium, unless:

- 1. it is contained in a Written application signed by the Policyholder; and
- 2. a copy of the application is given to the Policyholder.

We will not contest insurance after it has been in force for 2 years from its effective date, except for non-payment of premium.

Misstatement of Age

If Your or Your Dependent's age is misstated, the correct age will be used to determine if insurance is in effect and, as appropriate, We will adjust the benefits and/or premiums.

Conformity with Law

If the terms and provisions of this certificate do not conform to any applicable law, this certificate shall be interpreted to so conform.

THE PRECEDING PAGE IS THE END OF THE CERTIFICATE. THE FOLLOWING IS ADDITIONAL INFORMATION.



Delaware American Life Insurance Company MetLife Health Plans, Inc. MetLife Legal Plans, Inc. MetLife Legal Plans of Florida, Inc. Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Metropolitan Tower Life Insurance Company SafeGuard Health Plans, Inc. SafeHealth Life Insurance Company

Our Privacy Notice

We know that you buy our products and services because you trust us. This notice explains how we protect your privacy and treat your personal information. It applies to current and former customers. "Personal information" as used here means anything we know about you personally.

SECTION 1: Plan Sponsors and Group Insurance Contract Holders

This privacy notice is for individuals who apply for or obtain our products and services under an employee benefit plan, group insurance or annuity contract, or as an executive benefit. In this notice, "you" refers to these individuals.

SECTION 2: Protecting Your Information

We take important steps to protect your personal information. We treat it as confidential. We tell our employees to take care in handling it. We limit access to those who need it to perform their jobs. Our outside service providers must also protect it, and use it only to meet our business needs. We also take steps to protect our systems from unauthorized access. We comply with all laws that apply to us.

SECTION 3: Collecting Your Information

We typically collect your name, address, age, and other relevant information. We may also collect information about any business you have with us, our affiliates, or other companies. Our affiliates include life, car, and home insurers. They also include a legal plans company, and a securities broker-dealer. In the future, we may also have affiliates in other businesses.

SECTION 4: How We Get Your Information

We get your personal information mostly from you. We may also use outside sources to help ensure our records are correct and complete. These sources may include consumer reporting agencies, employers, other financial institutions, adult relatives, and others. These sources may give us reports or share what they know with others. We don't control the accuracy of information outside sources give us. If you want to make any changes to information we receive from others about you, you must contact those sources.

We may ask for medical information. The Authorization that you sign when you request insurance permits these sources to tell us about you. We may also, at our expense:

- Ask for a medical exam
- Ask for blood and urine tests
- Ask health care providers to give us health data, including information about alcohol or drug abuse

We may also ask a consumer reporting agency for a "consumer report" about you (or anyone else to be insured). Consumer reports may tell us about a lot of things, including information about:

Reputation

Driving record

Finances

- Work and work history
- Hobbies and dangerous activities

The information may be kept by the consumer reporting agency and later given to others as permitted by law. The agency will give you a copy of the report it provides to us, if you ask the agency and can provide adequate identification. If you write to us and we have asked for a consumer report about you, we will tell you so and give you the name, address and phone number of the consumer reporting agency.

Another source of information is MIB, Inc. ("MIB"). It is a not-for-profit membership organization of insurance companies which operates an information exchange on behalf of its Members. We, or our reinsurers, may make a brief report to MIB. If you apply to another MIB Member company for life or health insurance coverage, or a claim for benefits is submitted, MIB, upon request, will supply such company with the information in its file. Upon receipt of a request from you MIB will arrange disclosure of any information it may

have in your file. Please contact MIB at 866-692-6901. If you question the accuracy of information in MIB's file, you may contact MIB and seek a correction in accordance with the procedures set forth in the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act. You may do so by writing to MIB, Inc., 50 Braintree Hill, Suite 400, Braintree, MA 02184-8734 or go to MIB website at www.mib.com.

SECTION 5: Using Your Information

We collect your personal information to help us decide if you're eligible for our products or services. We may also need it to verify identities to help deter fraud, money laundering, or other crimes. How we use this information depends on what products and services you have or want from us. It also depends on what laws apply to those products and services. For example, we may also use your information to:

- administer your products and services
- perform business research
- market new products to you
- comply with applicable laws

- process claims and other transactions
- confirm or correct your information
- help us run our business

SECTION 6: Sharing Your Information With Others

We may share your personal information with others with your consent, by agreement, or as permitted or required by law. We may share your personal information without your consent if permitted or required by law. For example, we may share your information with businesses hired to carry out services for us. We may also share it with our affiliated or unaffiliated business partners through joint marketing agreements. In those situations, we share your information to jointly offer you products and services or have others offer you products and services we endorse or sponsor. Before sharing your information with any affiliate or joint marketing partner for their own marketing purposes, however, we will first notify you and give you an opportunity to opt out.

Other reasons we may share your information include:

- doing what a court, law enforcement, or government agency requires us to do (for example, complying with search warrants or subpoenas)
- telling another company what we know about you if we are selling or merging any part of our business
- giving information to a governmental agency so it can decide if you are eligible for public benefits
- giving your information to someone with a legal interest in your assets (for example, a creditor with a lien on your account)
- giving your information to your health care provider
- having a peer review organization evaluate your information, if you have health coverage with us
- those listed in our "Using Your Information" section above

SECTION 7: HIPAA

We will not share your health information with any other company – even one of our affiliates – for their own marketing purposes. The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act ("HIPAA") protects your information if you request or purchase dental, vision, long-term care and/or medical insurance from us. HIPAA limits our ability to use and disclose the information that we obtain as a result of your request or purchase of insurance. Information about your rights under HIPAA will be provided to you with any dental, vision, long-term care or medical coverage issued to you.

You may obtain a copy of our HIPAA Privacy Notice by visiting our website at www.MetLife.com. For additional information about your rights under HIPAA; or to have a HIPAA Privacy Notice mailed to you, contact us at HIPAAprivacyAmericasUS@metlife.com, or call us at telephone number (212) 578-0299.

SECTION 8: Accessing and Correcting Your Information

You may ask us for a copy of the personal information we have about you. We will provide it as long as it is reasonably locatable and retrievable. You must make your request in writing listing the account or policy numbers with the information you want to access. For legal reasons, we may not show you privileged information relating to a claim or lawsuit, unless required by law.

If you tell us that what we know about you is incorrect, we will review it. If we agree, we will update our records. Otherwise, you may dispute our findings in writing, and we will include your statement whenever we give your disputed information to anyone outside MetLife.

SECTION 9: Questions

We want you to understand how we protect your privacy. If you have any questions or want more information about this notice, please contact us. A detailed notice shall be furnished to you upon request. When you write, include your name, address, and policy or account number.

Send privacy questions to: MetLife Privacy Office

P. O. Box 489

Warwick, RI 02887-9954 privacy@metlife.com

We may revise this privacy notice. If we make any material changes, we will notify you as required by law. We provide this privacy notice to you on behalf of the MetLife companies listed at the top of the first page.

For information about the Will Preparation Service and Estate Resolution Service, you may contact the provider, MetLife Legal Plans, Inc. by phone.

Phone: 1-800-821-6400