The leave provided for in the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act ("Sick and Safe" leave) will be recorded in the Statewide Personnel System (SPS) by Type of Employee, as follows:

1) Temporary and Contractual Employees (at least 12 work hours per week and less than 30 work hours per week)

- Covered by the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act only
- Use the Sick and Safe Time Off to take paid leave time
- System will allow use of 64 hours per calendar year
- Review Sick and Safe Leave Balance

Employees will see a Time Off called "Sick and Safe Time Off" in the SPS and will be limited to 64 hours used per calendar year. Supervisors should be made aware that these employees will now have paid leave available. Employees can refer to the two Guide links below for how to use leave in the SPS.

http://dbm.maryland.gov/sps/Documents/Request Partial Day Off-User Guide.pdf http://dbm.maryland.gov/sps/Documents/The Workday Time Off Review QRG.pdf

2) Temporary and Contractual Employees (30 or more work hours per week)

- Covered by Executive Order 01.01.2017.09 (Sensible Paid Leave in the Executive Branch of State Government) and the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act
- Use Paid Time Off or Sick and Safe Time Off to take paid leave
- System will allow use of 64 hours per calendar year for the Sick and Safe Time Off
- Review Paid Time Off Used in Worklet

Employees will see Time Off options called "Paid Time Off" and "Sick and Safe Time Off" in the SPS and will have to select whichever applies to their situation. Sick and Safe Time Off will be limited to 64 hours used per calendar year. This leave use process is the same as employees have used in the past under Executive Order 01.01.2017.09, but the name of the Time Off has changed. There will be a new Worklet to see how this paid leave has been used. The Worklet will be called "Worker Sick and Safe Used YTD".

3) State Regular Employees in less than 50% positions and at least 12 work hours per week (less than 20 work hours per week)

- Covered by the Sick and Safe Law Only
- Use the Sick and Safe Time Off to take paid leave time
- System will allow use of 64 hours per calendar year
- Review Sick and Safe Leave Balance

Employees will see a Time Off called "Sick and Safe Time Off" in the SPS and will be limited to 64 hours used per calendar year. Supervisors should be made aware that these employees will now have paid leave available. Employees can refer to the two Guide links below for how to use leave in SPS.

http://dbm.maryland.gov/sps/Documents/Request Partial Day Off-User Guide.pdf http://dbm.maryland.gov/sps/Documents/The Workday Time Off Review QRG.pdf

4) State Regular Employees in 50% or more positions

- Use Annual, Sick, Personal, Comp, etc. for Sick and Safe reasons as applicable
- System will allow use of 64 hours per calendar year for the Sick and Safe Reasons
- Review Paid Time Off Used in Worklet

Employees will see new "Sick and Safe" leave types attached to Annual, Sick, Personal and Comp Time Off options and the employees will select the "Sick and Safe" type when using paid leave for a Sick and Safe reason. Sick and Safe leave will be limited to 64 hours used per calendar year. Although this leave use process is the same as employees have used in the past, there are new Time Off Type names for Sick and Safe leave. There will be a new Worklet to see how this paid leave has been used. The Worklet will be called "Worker Sick and Safe Used YTD".